Ask the ref?

bucksman

Moderator
AR waves flag for a foul he believes was committed, center ref allows play to continue/does not see. "Foul" occurred 25 yards out from goal, player continues breakaway and just misses the shot. Center ref discusses with AR and gives the offensive team free kick from original foul location....thus allowing second opportunity to score.

Thoughts?
That would seem to be imprudent.
 

EastYoungstown

Active member
Per NFHS rules this year, the clock MUST stop inside the last five minutes of regulation when the leading team is substituting, unless they are up by six or more (i.e. running clock is in effect) -- as per NFHS rule 7-4-3. There has been no change to the rule that the referee has the right to stop the clock at his discretion for other types of time wasting -- as per NFHS rule 7-4-1
Thanks for clarifying. I've actually seen 2 refs do this over the last week and wondered whether this was a new thing or not.

Once a ball was kicked out by the LOSING team a fair distance and as the WINNING TEAM'S player went to retrieve it for a throw in, the ref stopped the clock.

The other time the ball was again kicked out a far way, this time into the stands. The ball girl, extra ball in hand, quickly got the losing teams player the ball and as she was ready to throw it in the ref was signalling to the press box to stop the clock. Seemed he was more worried about stopping the clock than paying attention to the fact that the player was already throwing the ball in.

I didn't think either case justified a stoppage but I'm glad you clarified that.
 

EastYoungstown

Active member
Question for fellow refs....

Now that HS has the rule where any number of players can be present for a drop ball, has anyone had any trouble with this?

I still see every team still sending 1 player for them.
 

shoprat2

Member
Saw a tough one tonight. Shot taken on a ck and it goes in. Ref on that side at mid field says no goal hole in the side net. Unfortunately he was the ref that did not do Pre-game inspection and after looking at the net could not find a hole. Ruling was goal kick. Players and coaches both agreed after match it was good and video seemed to agree. Tough break in a game that ended 2-1.
 
Saw a weird one today in a boys' high school game. Player gets fouled in the box, AR calls for a penalty kick. Over the course of 60-90 seconds the keeper and kicker line up, the rest of the players line up. The AR blows his whistle, the kicker advances on the ball, kicks it past the outstretched arms of the keeper for a goal, the refs signal the goal as good. But wait a second ... the keeper tells the AR he wasn't ready (even though he was horizontal in his effort to stop the PK). The AR consults with the center ref, and the call for a re-kick, which is blocked. How can this be?
 

EastYoungstown

Active member
Saw a weird one today in a boys' high school game. Player gets fouled in the box, AR calls for a penalty kick. Over the course of 60-90 seconds the keeper and kicker line up, the rest of the players line up. The AR blows his whistle, the kicker advances on the ball, kicks it past the outstretched arms of the keeper for a goal, the refs signal the goal as good. But wait a second ... the keeper tells the AR he wasn't ready (even though he was horizontal in his effort to stop the PK). The AR consults with the center ref, and the call for a re-kick, which is blocked. How can this be?
Once the ref blows the whistle and the kick is taken I don't see how you do it over.
 

hammer89

Member
Are you sure that the kick was retaken because he "wasn't ready?" How do you know? What if it was retaken because of encroachment or some other foul by the kicking team?
 

soccerdad72

New member
Saw a weird one today in a boys' high school game. Player gets fouled in the box, AR calls for a penalty kick. Over the course of 60-90 seconds the keeper and kicker line up, the rest of the players line up. The AR blows his whistle, the kicker advances on the ball, kicks it past the outstretched arms of the keeper for a goal, the refs signal the goal as good. But wait a second ... the keeper tells the AR he wasn't ready (even though he was horizontal in his effort to stop the PK). The AR consults with the center ref, and the call for a re-kick, which is blocked. How can this be?
None of what you said makes any sense, including why the AR was involved (or even had a whistle) aside from making the initial foul call.
 
Are you sure that the kick was retaken because he "wasn't ready?" How do you know? What if it was retaken because of encroachment or some other foul by the kicking team?
The AR talked to the coach of the player attempting the PK, the coach relayed the conversation to the people in the stands. The officials initially started walking the ball to midfield, then reversed course and talked to the keeper for 30-45 seconds. The two refs then huddled and waived off the goal. So there was no encroachment called. Like I say, it was a weird one.
 
None of what you said makes any sense, including why the AR was involved (or even had a whistle) aside from making the initial foul call.
There were only two refs, but the ref making the call was technically the AR, as the other ref was conveying info to the coaches and handling all other Center Ref duties.
 

OhioBobcatFan06

Well-known member
AR waves flag for a foul he believes was committed, center ref allows play to continue/does not see. "Foul" occurred 25 yards out from goal, player continues breakaway and just misses the shot. Center ref discusses with AR and gives the offensive team free kick from original foul location....thus allowing second opportunity to score.

Thoughts?
Goal kick. Card someone if you need to. Still goal kick.
 

bucksman

Moderator
In high school, if there are two officials, they are in a "two-man" or a "dual" system. There is a head referee and a referee. Both officials have whistles.
 
The AR talked to the coach of the player attempting the PK, the coach relayed the conversation to the people in the stands. The officials initially started walking the ball to midfield, then reversed course and talked to the keeper for 30-45 seconds. The two refs then huddled and waived off the goal. So there was no encroachment called. Like I say, it was a weird one.
Are you sure the "encroachment" wasn't by the Shooter, in which case a scored PK "would" / should (by Rule) be retaken. In your original statement, you said "the kicker advances the ball".......are you saying he 'dribbled' the ball from the PK spot BEFORE shooting it? If that was the case, the 'Retake' was the proper decision......
 
.
Top