Ask The Ref?

Team A kicks off to team B. During the return team A coach makes contact with the official in the box. Penalty is called and marked off from the end of the play. Later in the game play goes out of bounds on team A sideline and flag comes out for sideline warning. The referee announces sideline warning - team a’s first and there is no yardage penalty. Is this correct? Do they still get a warning even after the previous foul for contact in the box?
 

chs1971

Well-known member
Short answer, that is correct. Contact and non-contact violations are two different classes of fouls and are penalized separately.
 

AllSports12

Moderator
Team A kicks off to team B. During the return team A coach makes contact with the official in the box. Penalty is called and marked off from the end of the play. Later in the game play goes out of bounds on team A sideline and flag comes out for sideline warning. The referee announces sideline warning - team a’s first and there is no yardage penalty. Is this correct? Do they still get a warning even after the previous foul for contact in the box?
Yes, the officials administered this correctly.

Two separate fouls have occurred here.

On the play in which A's coach makes contact (unintentional I assume) with an official in the restricted area, the foul is for illegal personal contact. 15yd penalty assessed from the succeeding spot. (dead ball spot)

On the second play, there is no description of the action that led to the flag, however (and again assuming) if the flag was for a non player being in the restricted area during a live ball, or having more than three coaches in the restricted area just before a ball us about to become live, that action results in a sideline warning. First offense carries no penalty, second offense carries a 5yd penalty, the third and subsequent offenses all carry a 15yd penalty and are charged as unsportsmanlike conduct fouls against the head coach. (the second results in his ejection from the contest)

EDIT: Since I'm a slow typer and got caught making coffee, CHS has already correctly noted that two separate fouls have occurred here.
 
Last edited:

PantherProud

Active member
What are the rules with the clock regarding offensive penalties?

In the Elder/Springfield game, there was an offensive penalty with under a minute to play. There was no runoff, which doesn't shock me in high school, but the clock did not start after the ball was set. The offense, who was trailing, essentially received an extra timeout.

Was this a mistake?
 

zebrastripes

Active member
What are the rules with the clock regarding offensive penalties?

In the Elder/Springfield game, there was an offensive penalty with under a minute to play. There was no runoff, which doesn't shock me in high school, but the clock did not start after the ball was set. The offense, who was trailing, essentially received an extra timeout.

Was this a mistake?
We would need to know the result of the play ignoring the foul in order to tell you if the crew ruled correctly.
 

zebrastripes

Active member
As for the rules themselves, the clock status after a foul (i.e. starts on snap vs. referee's signal/ready-for-play) is the same as if the foul had not occurred. The result of the play determines what will happen to the clock.

When there is an accepted penalty with less than two minutes remaining in either half, the offended team can elect to have the clock start on the snap if the clock would otherwise start on the ready-for-play.

The Referee does have discretion to start the clock on the snap or ready, superseding the normal rules, if he judges that a team is attempting to conserve or consume time illegally.
 

zebrastripes

Active member
You can’t start a stopped clock, correct? I.e. penalty on a incomplete pass, clock will stay stopped regardless?
It's not that "you can't start a stopped clock" (e.g. the clock stops but restarts on the Referee's signal after a first down inbounds). It's that an incomplete legal or illegal forward pass results in the clock starting on the snap, by rule.
 

AllSports12

Moderator
You can’t start a stopped clock, correct? I.e. penalty on a incomplete pass, clock will stay stopped regardless?
Correct in relation to what you refer to......

Example.....

During a play that results in an incomplete forward pass, A72 is guilty of holding. After enforcing the penalty,the clock will start on the snap as that is what would have occurred absent the foul.
 
during mansfield aurora game officials penalized the offense a delay of game. the play clock read 16 seconds at the time. the play clock clearly did not start on time. the back judge counted down using his hand. is it proper to penalize the team for the clock operator error in this case?
 

AllSports12

Moderator
during mansfield aurora game officials penalized the offense a delay of game. the play clock read 16 seconds at the time. the play clock clearly did not start on time. the back judge counted down using his hand. is it proper to penalize the team for the clock operator error in this case?
Yes it is.

This mechanic has been used for quite a while now. The Back Judge always counts down the last 5 seconds regardless the existence of a play clock. The coaches know this.
 
.
Top