This is in reference to an NCAA D3 game, but I figured this was the best place to ask:
Team A has the ball on their end of the floor. Team A's coach says something to get a technical. Team B shot two free throws but Team A retained possession.
Is this handleddifferent in college than in high school? I always thought a technical was two shots and possession.
Under NCAA rules, play resumes after this type of technical foul at the point of interruption. The point of interruption here is A is in possession of the ball, therefore A gets the ball for a throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was when play was stopped for the technical. (there are some exceptions to this both under NCAA-M and NCAA-W)
Under NFHS rules, part of the penalty for a technical foul is awarding the opponent the ball for a designated spot throw in at the division line opposite the scorer's table after the two free throws are attempted.