Ask the Ref?

AllSports12

Moderator
This is in reference to an NCAA D3 game, but I figured this was the best place to ask:
Team A has the ball on their end of the floor. Team A's coach says something to get a technical. Team B shot two free throws but Team A retained possession.

Is this handleddifferent in college than in high school? I always thought a technical was two shots and possession.
Under NCAA rules, play resumes after this type of technical foul at the point of interruption. The point of interruption here is A is in possession of the ball, therefore A gets the ball for a throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was when play was stopped for the technical. (there are some exceptions to this both under NCAA-M and NCAA-W)

Under NFHS rules, part of the penalty for a technical foul is awarding the opponent the ball for a designated spot throw in at the division line opposite the scorer's table after the two free throws are attempted.
 

AllSports12

Moderator
Is there any such rule that doesn't allow a High School Basketball player to also play JO Volleyball during the season. As girls basketball draws to an end
JO Volleyball starts normally the last week of Jan. or first week of Feb.

Clearly you school ball comes number one before pay to play travel ball .


Thanks In Advance
I hope you understand, but that will not be addressed here.

Please refer your questions to your school's Athletic Director. Player eligibility is a serious matter and only those charged with the responsibility of overseeing this should be involved.

Anyone providing advice on this subject will have their post deleted. Let the people responsible for player eligibility handle this.

Thank You.....

AS12
 

shadow1479

Member
Out of Bounds Violation

When there is a loose ball by the sideline and one player goes out of bounds trying to get to the ball.Even if they do not touch the ball. Is this a violation? Looking up 9-3-3 but not sure . Thanks!
 

AllSports12

Moderator
When there is a loose ball by the sideline and one player goes out of bounds trying to get to the ball.Even if they do not touch the ball. Is this a violation? Looking up 9-3-3 but not sure . Thanks!
Players are legally out of bounds all throughout the game.

9-3-3 refers to leaving the playing court for an unauthorized reason. Examples of this are...

1) Leaving the court to avoid a 3 second violation
2) Running out of bounds to avoid a screen
3) running out of bounds in order to have a defender run into a screen
4) running out of bounds in order to stop action (take away an advantage by the opponent)

In the play you describe, unless the player took a path that gave him an advantage over his opponent or allowed him to reach the ball before it went out of bounds, this is nothing.
 

denbigfish

New member
Team A scores a 2 point layup while their team has 6 players on the court. No one notices until play is stopped by the refs. Refs give a 2 shot technical to team B. Team A's points stay on the board. Refs reasoning is 'we gave team B 2 shots'. Correct call?
 

MCGal

Active member
I don't think the basket is a correctable error... or whatever the term is. In other words, I don't think they can set everything back to the way it was before the 6 kids on the court thing started. I could be wrong tho :)
 

denbigfish

New member
I don't think the basket is a correctable error... or whatever the term is. In other words, I don't think they can set everything back to the way it was before the 6 kids on the court thing started. I could be wrong tho :)
I'm trying to find the final exact score. If I'm correct, Team A won by two......a JV game. Oh boy.....but rules are rules. And thank you for your input. when I get a chance, I'm going to try and see the specific rules.

Hope all is well.
 
Last edited:

AllSports12

Moderator
Team A scores a 2 point layup while their team has 6 players on the court. No one notices until play is stopped by the refs. Refs give a 2 shot technical to team B. Team A's points stay on the board. Refs reasoning is 'we gave team B 2 shots'. Correct call?
Rule 10-2-2

Correct call, provided the technical foul was charged to the team and not to an individual player or the Head Coach.

All activity that occurred including time consumed, points scored, fouls committed...etc.... are unchanged.
 

denbigfish

New member
Rule 10-2-2

Correct call, provided the technical foul was charged to the team and not to an individual player or the Head Coach.

All activity that occurred including time consumed, points scored, fouls committed...etc.... are unchanged.
Well, if it's any consolation, it occurred last night in a JV game. And that team won by 2 points. Thank goodness it wasn't a varsity game.

Thanks for your input.
 
I am always amazed how fast officials and coaches notice an extra player on a football field, making 23 instead of 22....how in the world did no one notice a team having 6 players until a play took place to completion? And I don't mean officials, opposing coach, players, etc....
 

AllSports12

Moderator
I am always amazed how fast officials and coaches notice an extra player on a football field, making 23 instead of 22....how in the world did no one notice a team having 6 players until a play took place to completion? And I don't mean officials, opposing coach, players, etc....
Because they are human and made a mistake...... (and it happens in every sport)

CoachHoversten, if you have a beef with an officiating crew, please open a separate thread in this forum and discuss it there. This thread is for questions regarding questions about rules and mechanics only.

Thanks for understanding....
 
Last edited:

cinboiler

New member
Are fans not allowed to criticize officials anymore? Attended Lakota West/Mason girls game last night. Do officials have the power to remove anyone for saying anything negative?
 

AllSports12

Moderator
Are fans not allowed to criticize officials anymore? Attended Lakota West/Mason girls game last night. Do officials have the power to remove anyone for saying anything negative?
You can certainly criticize, (why someone would go to a HS sporting event and yell at officials remains a mystery to me) but there is a line that can't be crossed and officiating crews have the authority to direct game management to remove unruly fans.

With regards to the game you describe, unless you can provide video and/or audio of what exactly was said and all the other details surrounding the criticism, we aren't going to discuss the details here.

You are free to open a separate thread in this forum and discuss it there.... I'm sure you'll get the answer you are looking for from some of the others.
 
.
Top