Ask The Ref?

BleedPurple13

Active member
I know all levels have different rules but does the line extend out indefinitely over the sideline if the player is in bounds(talking last night OSU game). The Georgia kid kept his hand in bound but the ball was over the sideline. How does the spot get determined? I was under the assumption it was a first down when I saw the replay that he didn’t touch OOB but I really can’t find any rule that specifically addresses it.
 

chs1971

Well-known member
NFHS 4.3.3

... the foremost point of the ball at the time the runner crosses the plane of the sideline.

Note that it is not when he touches OOB.
 
.
Top