Francis Howell High School: An Introduction

FHgrad99

Hello from Missouri. I'm a graduate of Francis Howell and seeing that Francis Howell is playing Elder in a couple of weeks, I figured I would share with you some things about Francis Howell.

Some basic facts:

Name: Francis Howell High School, also known as Howell. (I'll refer to it as Howell during the rest of this post)
Founded: 1881, making it one of the oldest High Schools west of the Mississippi River.
Mascot: Vikings, up until the late 60's the mascot was the Dragoon.
Colors: Royal Blue and Gold, think of the St. Louis Rams colors of the late 90's.

More info:

Howell is located about 40 miles west of St. Louis in St. Charles, MO. The school district has grown a lot in the last 25-30 years because of urban sprawl, which forced the Francis Howell School District to build 2 more high schools, Francis Howell North and Francis Howell Central.

In football, Howell is a class 6 school, which consists of the largest schools in Missouri. Howell plays in the Gateway Athletic Conference (GAC) South. Their toughest conference rival is Fort Zumwalt West, who had a down year, by their standards last year. The way the season is setup in Missouri, there aren't many opportunities to schedule non-conference games since the last 3 games are district playoff games. Howell's non-conference opponents, besides Elder are Webster Groves, a class 5 team who is always a threat to make a deep run in the playoffs year in and year out and CBC, who Howell came very, very close to beating last year.

Howell plays in a tough district with teams like Jefferson City, who might have the richest football tradition in Missouri, Columbia-Hickman and Columbia-Rockbridge, who were both tough teams last year. Last year was Howell's first appearance in the state title game. The year before was Howell's first appearance in the final four.