Weight Certification Question

Jap Whizzer

New member
Question about weight certification. Wrestler A has a Minimum Weight Allowance of 105.8 on 12/31/19. He has wrestled 113 all season including taking the weight allowance after Christmas (weighed out at 114.9 at a tournament). Can he still wrestle 106 if he makes scratch once and competes?
 

suplex21

Active member
Yes, long as he did not weigh in and wrestle 120 or higher.
As for making scratch, he could make scratch at sectionals.
 

HighSchoolFan1

New member
as long as you haven’t wrestled 2 classes about your cert weight. Can’t weigh in at 13 and wrestle 20, you’d loss your 6 cert.
 
The rule says as long as Wrestler A does not weigh-in at 120.1, making that wrestler eligible for 126 and 132, then he still maintains his eligibility for 106.
 

FunkRoll

Active member
Thats not true either...once he weighs in at the 120 pound weight class he loses his eligibility for 106 (if at the time his alpha allows him to wrestle 106)
 

hubman

Well-known member
Another question:

Say you are in a two day dual meet tournament and according to your weight loss plan, your minimum weight on Day 1 of said tournament is 195 but your minimum on Day 2 is 182. Are you allowed to wrestle the lower weight class the second day if you weighed in at 181 for the tournament??
 

Jap Whizzer

New member
It seems like im getting contradictory information here. Funk roll...if he used his 2 pound weight allowance but still wrestled 113 (weighed in at 114.9) does that mean he lost eligibility for 106 because he weighed in over 113 or does all of this include the allowance?....
 

FunkRoll

Active member
It seems like im getting contradictory information here. Funk roll...if he used his 2 pound weight allowance but still wrestled 113 (weighed in at 114.9) does that mean he lost eligibility for 106 because he weighed in over 113 or does all of this include the allowance?....
Nope...he is still good for 106
 

FunkRoll

Active member
Another question:

Say you are in a two day dual meet tournament and according to your weight loss plan, your minimum weight on Day 1 of said tournament is 195 but your minimum on Day 2 is 182. Are you allowed to wrestle the lower weight class the second day if you weighed in at 181 for the tournament??
You are not allowed to change weight classes...up or down...for a two day dual tournament.
 

pete

Member
First - yes, 114.6 (after the allowance) he has not forfeited 106 because he made weight at 113. (and yes, if he weighed in for 113, even with the 2 lbs, he could wrestle 120 and still get down to 106, As long as he
Second - this was a recent clarification. If after the allowance, he weighins in at 107, but has not made scratch, he could not wrestle 120 because he has weighing for the 106 lb class but can not wrestle 106 until he makes scratch so he would be limited to 113.
And just for clarification, certifying for a weight class, the wrestler must weigh in at scratch and wrestle. Forfiets count as wrestling and yes he can wrestle 1 weight class above what he scratched at. He does not have to wrestle at the scratch weight
 

cosh wrestling dad

Active member
If he never certed for106 I believe he can weigh 119 (120) and still doesn't lose 106. From what I've been told as long as you don't certify for your weight you don't lose it but if you wrestle 126 now the lowest you could wrestle is 120 because you would lose the certification for 113 wrestling 2 weight classes above 113 after you certified for it
 

suplex21

Active member
If he never certed for106 I believe he can weigh 119 (120) and still doesn't lose 106. From what I've been told as long as you don't certify for your weight you don't lose it but if you wrestle 126 now the lowest you could wrestle is 120 because you would lose the certification for 113 wrestling 2 weight classes above 113 after you certified for it
If your weight loss plan says you are eligible for it you can only weigh one class above it. If he was eligible for 6 he has to weighin at 13.... if he was eligible for 13 (not 6 yet) he could weighin at 20.
 

split_finger

Active member
The rules regarding weight allowance are just a guide. Nobody needs to follow these guidelines. You can wrestle where you want even if you are up 3 weight classes from your lowest weight. Even if it is at the sectional. At least that’s what a Genoa wrestler did in 2015 and Beau Rugg allowed it. True story
 
.
Top