FWIW also - the clock doesn't stop in NFHS rules on a made basket under normal circumstances. I'd have to assume you're talking about a made free throw, actually (or maybe coming back after a timeout)? Otherwise, there's little logic in a player delaying the 'touch' on the inbounds throw/roll. Allsports obviously has given the details of the 5-second and 10 second counts.To preserve clock teams will roll the ball in so the clock does not start. However here is my question: When the inbounding player takes the ball out of bounds after a made basket he has 5 seconds to in bound the ball. The team then has 10 seconds to advance the ball across the halfcourt line. However, when the ball is rolling the referee still has his hand over his head so is the original 5 count still in effect because the ball has not been touched or is it deemed to be in play (in bounded). Does the back court 10 count start when the ball is in bounded or when it is touched.
I'm interested in this too because I've seen it happen and the refs ruled the basket good for the defensive team. I was very surprised that an officials mistake was not corrected and held against the scoring team.Situation:
Players come out of their benches between overtime period 1 and overtime period 2 and line up improperly for a tip-off on their own (Players are facing the wrong basket at the beginning of the second overtime period.) Referee comes in and starts the period without correcting the error. Tip-off goes off normally, player sinks basket in wrong basket. The scoreboard operator immediately informs the refs of the problem.
What is the rule? What should have been the call?
What actually happened http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbeWunZQCHY
1:09:20 into the video.
The ref counted the basket, you can hear him say he is not taking away points, and did a mid-court throw-in for the other team to continue the period.
This is an officials error (the scorer is part of the officiating crew) and not a correctable error.last night in a game a player from team A fouled. this was the 5th foul for that player. the next play continued with the player that committed the 5th foul still on the floor. team A stole the inbound pass from team B and went down and scored. just so happened the person that scored was the person that committed the 5th foul on the previous play. after the bucket the scores table sounded the horn to stop play an make the officials aware of the situation.
is this a correctable error? should the points have been taken off the scoreboard?
FWIW, and future reference.....there are only five correctable errors, four of which involve free throws.is this a correctable error? should the points have been taken off the scoreboard?
The arrow is not touched after the throw in, because part of the penalty for a technical foul is the ball being awarded to the offended team for a throw in at the division line.possession arrow in team B direction
a jump ball is called on the floor.
as the two players break up the tie up team B player slams the ball to the floor.
a technical foul is called on team B player.
team A awarded two shots and ball out of bounds.
Does the possession arrow change or does the technical cancel out the jump ball?
Without seeing each specific event, it's hard to say. Generally, that action is going to get you lit up.Pyrite brought something to my mind with that post. I've seen 4 technicals given for slamming the ball and also at least 6 other occasions where it wasn't called. Some of these were in the same game and after one was called. In one case a coach got t'd up for becoming upset when his player received one but shortly after the opposing player did not. What constitutes a technical when slamming the ball? Strictly ref's discretion?
Agree. But isn't this rule the same for college? I know not all rules are the same, but I think this one is. If not, please correct me.Most fans and fewer announcers have no idea about High School Basketball Rules.
There's no excuse for an official to kick this.
Simply stated, as long as the slap is part of a legitimate attempt to block a shot, the slap is legal.
Just as important, is that no matter how much a backboard shakes/vibrates due to a slap, even if the slap is illegal and results in a technical foul, it is not basket interference and points cannot awarded.
NFHS Definition - "The act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap. The try starts when a player begins the motion which habitually preceds the release of the ball"Can someone post the NFHS definition for the act of shooting?
Situation #1 -- There is no call as no violation has occurred. The offensive player holding the ball across the throw-in plane makes it available to the defense.Two situations:
1. Offense is in-bounding the ball. The offensive player is towing the sideline but both feet are still out-of-bounds. He starts to pass it in but holds the ball with his arms extended out onto the court. The defender hits the ball out of his hands. What is the call?
2. Team A is trailing by 4 points with :06 seconds left in the game with the ball. They tell the ref they are going to make a 3-pointer and then intentionally kick the ball for a delay of game. This would be the first offense for delay of game. What is the call in this situation?
Your statement "nobody possessing the ball" means that team control was not established. Absent team control inbounds, you cannot have a backcourt violation.Team A is shooting the 2nd of 2 FT's....The ball hits the rim and is knocked around with nobody possessing the ball. Player A reaches for the ball and accidentally kicks it in the backcourt, player A then retrieves the ball in the backcourt... last to touch, first to touch....Over and Back or play on?