Indoor state meet time schedule

psycho_dad

The time schedule for D2/D3 was much too long. Didn't look to see if D1 was the same, but I imagine it was. 8 minutes of dead air between the last heat of something and the start of the next event is 7 minutes too many. IMO

There was some delay but it was not that noticeable at the meet itself. And as a coach I appreciated having a set time schedule (as opposed to rolling) so that I can be exact in telling my athletes when they need to start warming up, how long they will have between events, etc.

One thing that I did not appreciate at the indoor state meet was the free reign that was given to college coaches to go anywhere they wanted whereas high school coaches (i.e., the coaches that are actually there to coach their athletes) that did not have a field athlete participating in the meet were only allowed in the grand stand. They admittedly became less strict about monitoring who was in the track area after the field events concluded and I understand the concerns about having too many people in the competition area; but it seems to me that allowing college coaches into the competition area is essentially just adding more spectators who have a vested interest in being there but who are not actively coaching or otherwise participating in the meet.

This is not to say that I observed any college coaches getting in the way or otherwise interfering with the athletes as they warmed up or competed, and I am happy that they are there and interested in recruiting our athletes to compete at the next level. It was just frustrating to have to sit in the grand stand and try coach/take splits for the early events (i.e., the 4x800) while watching 5 coaches from the same college team standing track side and essentially get a front row seat to just watch.