Christian conservative group denied service at Virginia restaurant as staff felt 'unsafe'

As a business owner, I think you should get to pick and choose based on ideology, then you also reap the reward of such action as well.

The last thing I want to do is force a food establishment who does not want my business to be required to serve me.
I agree.

No we want consistency in the enforcement of these rules. The scenario you cite often brings societal condemnation on the photographer and even if they prevail in court they are often dragged through our legal system as if they did something wrong.

I would prefer that a person or business has the right to refuse service for any reason they choose. Since we don't have that then service must be provided accept for very rare circumstances.
Blah, blah, blah...

What is the principle, the standard...rules that apply to all? That can be understood by all?

Should you be able to deny a gay couple your photography services?
Should you be permitted to deny renting your house to a mixed race couple?
Can you set up a covenant for all home owners in your gated community that they can't sell to Jews?
Should you be able to refuse to serve a Muslim (in obvious religious clothing regalia) at your restaurant?

No we want consistency in the enforcement of these rules. The scenario you cite often brings societal condemnation on the photographer and even if they prevail in court they are often dragged through our legal system as if they did something wrong.

I would prefer that a person or business has the right to refuse service for any reason they choose. Since we don't have that then service must be provided accept for very rare circumstances.
Let the market decide how to react to that person/entity.

The overwhelming majority would find it self defeating to limit their potential customer base.

Of course the restaurant has the right to refuse service to whomever they want.

Customers also have the right to boycott.