Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Basketball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #481  
Old 02-02-18, 01:12 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 142
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
There are ways to remedy this without rolling the shorts.
This is on your school and not the NFHS, the OHSAA, or the officials.
Or the NFHS and OHSAA can butt out since rolling the shorts creates no safety issue (as long as the drawstring is tucked in).

Are you saying you actually like enforcing this rule? You'd be one of the only officials I've ever known that does.

College has this one right...leave the shorts alone.
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 02-02-18, 01:41 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebrastripes View Post
Or the NFHS and OHSAA can butt out since rolling the shorts creates no safety issue (as long as the drawstring is tucked in).

Are you saying you actually like enforcing this rule? You'd be one of the only officials I've ever known that does.

College has this one right...leave the shorts alone.
Whether or not I like a rule is irrelevant. The committee, one that changes members on a regular basis, sees (and has seen for years) a need to have this in place.

So until they change it, I'll enforce it.
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 02-03-18, 05:43 PM
Curious One Curious One is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-26-12
Posts: 312
Curious One is on a distinguished road
http://www.chroniclet.com/high-schoo...ketball-1.html

Last nights EC -Parma game featured a bench clearing brawl near the end. The entire EC team left the bench and was ejected along with players on the court.
Question #1: Why did the officials allow EC to finish the game using ejected players? (See article.)
Question #2: Since I’m certain this has paaened before with regard to the 2 game suspensions, do all 12 EC kids sit the next 2 games or are the suspensions staggered?
Question #3: If the suspensions are staggered, who decides?
Reply With Quote
  #484  
Old 02-03-18, 07:21 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curious One View Post
http://www.chroniclet.com/high-schoo...ketball-1.html

Last nights EC -Parma game featured a bench clearing brawl near the end. The entire EC team left the bench and was ejected along with players on the court.
Question #1: Why did the officials allow EC to finish the game using ejected players? (See article.)
Question #2: Since I’m certain this has paaened before with regard to the 2 game suspensions, do all 12 EC kids sit the next 2 games or are the suspensions staggered?
Question #3: If the suspensions are staggered, who decides?
With regards to question #1, absent talking to the officials, we have no idea if the article is accurate.

With regards to the suspensions, they are administered by the OHSAA. They will have the call regarding when specific penalties are served.
Reply With Quote
  #485  
Old 02-11-18, 09:26 AM
blue60 blue60 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 02-19-07
Posts: 978
blue60 is on a distinguished road
Please explain three second rule. Do you have to have both feet in the paint for it to be called. I have watched games where post players stay down low with one foot planted in the paint the whole time his team is running their play.
Reply With Quote
  #486  
Old 02-11-18, 02:34 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue60 View Post
Please explain three second rule. Do you have to have both feet in the paint for it to be called. I have watched games where post players stay down low with one foot planted in the paint the whole time his team is running their play.
The three second rule is one of the most misunderstood rules from a fan's point of view. Typically the screams for "3 seconds" occur when the ball is bouncing on the rim or during a sequence three or four quick shot attempts..... So here's a quick breakdown......


The rule......

The purpose of the rule is to eliminate the offense from gaining an advantage by doing nothing more than standing in the lane.

The count begins when the offense has team control in the front court. (there is no count during a throw-in)

The count ends when team control ends. (defense possessed the ball or the ball is released on a try for goal. (shot attempt)

How it's officiated....

If a player is in constant movement and is showing a attempt to leave the free-throw lane, he/she is given greater latitude based on what they are doing.

If a player has been standing in the lane and comes into possession of the ball while still in the free-throw lane, that count will be suspended provided the player makes a direct and continued movement resulting in an attempt to score. Once they stop that continued movement, they are deemed to have violated the rule.

No coach wants the game constantly interrupted by three second calls and no official worth their value would make this call a priority if the offense is not violating the spirit and intent of the rule. When it's violated based on the criteria noted above, we certainly want to get this. However, when a player has his foot on the line and the ball is 40 feet away with no chance of being delivered to said player, it's not a call that a good official will make.

Those are the basics.... Hope that helps......

Remember..... it's a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #487  
Old 02-11-18, 02:54 PM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 876
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
The three second rule is one of the most misunderstood rules from a fan's point of view. Typically the screams for "3 seconds" occur when the ball is bouncing on the rim or during a sequence three or four quick shot attempts..... So here's a quick breakdown......


The rule......

The purpose of the rule is to eliminate the offense from gaining an advantage by doing nothing more than standing in the lane.

The count begins when the offense has team control in the front court. (there is no count during a throw-in)

The count ends when team control ends. (defense possessed the ball or the ball is released on a try for goal. (shot attempt)

How it's officiated....

If a player is in constant movement and is showing a attempt to leave the free-throw lane, he/she is given greater latitude based on what they are doing.

If a player has been standing in the lane and comes into possession of the ball while still in the free-throw lane, that count will be suspended provided the player makes a direct and continued movement resulting in an attempt to score. Once they stop that continued movement, they are deemed to have violated the rule.

No coach wants the game constantly interrupted by three second calls and no official worth their value would make this call a priority if the offense is not violating the spirit and intent of the rule. When it's violated based on the criteria noted above, we certainly want to get this. However, when a player has his foot on the line and the ball is 40 feet away with no chance of being delivered to said player, it's not a call that a good official will make.

Those are the basics.... Hope that helps......

Remember..... it's a judgment call.
I really like how some of the officals have been calling it when a big linebacker type is just standing near the box inside the paint, and just acting like a stationary screened. Its not a super natural look, but is obvious what is happening going on.

I see it called a bit to much at the younger levels, where some of the bigs just dont know whats going on/have a hard time moving out of the paint at times. The best ones are always communicating with the guys in the key, "#13 you need to get moving, i am watching three seconds" "#55 come on 55 you need to get out", all that is great. But it takes a very good ref, to be able to communicate and keep his attention on everything else. not easy (Just like its not easy for players to talk to each other on defense.)
Reply With Quote
  #488  
Old 02-11-18, 02:59 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakyak View Post
I really like how some of the officals have been calling it when a big linebacker type is just standing near the box inside the paint, and just acting like a stationary screened. Its not a super natural look, but is obvious what is happening going on.

I see it called a bit to much at the younger levels, where some of the bigs just dont know whats going on/have a hard time moving out of the paint at times. The best ones are always communicating with the guys in the key, "#13 you need to get moving, i am watching three seconds" "#55 come on 55 you need to get out", all that is great. But it takes a very good ref, to be able to communicate and keep his attention on everything else. not easy (Just like its not easy for players to talk to each other on defense.)
Agreed 100%
Reply With Quote
  #489  
Old 02-12-18, 09:57 PM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,450
oxat622
Team A is set to inbound an alternating possession throw-in. While the ball is at A1's disposal, does the arrow change to Team B if

a) A2 fouls before A1 releases the pass?

b) A1 is called for a violation (five seconds, stepped over the line)?
Reply With Quote
  #490  
Old 02-13-18, 12:00 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
Team A is set to inbound an alternating possession throw-in. While the ball is at A1's disposal, does the arrow change to Team B if

a) A2 fouls before A1 releases the pass?

b) A1 is called for a violation (five seconds, stepped over the line)?
Good question...........

If A violates prior to the end of an AP throw-in, B gets the ball for a throw-in and gets the arrow as well.

If either team fouls before the end of and AP throw-in, the arrow does not change.
Reply With Quote
  #491  
Old 02-19-18, 05:59 PM
coltfan76 coltfan76 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 07-10-08
Posts: 448
coltfan76 is on a distinguished road
I saw a violation called for swinging the elbows on a rebound but no foul. What is that all about?
Also is there a flagrant foul rule in scholastic ball?
Reply With Quote
  #492  
Old 02-19-18, 07:35 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by coltfan76 View Post
I saw a violation called for swinging the elbows on a rebound but no foul. What is that all about?
Also is there a flagrant foul rule in scholastic ball?
The penalty for swinging the elbows, without contact, was changed from a technical foul to a violation years ago. (too severe a penalty) If contact occurs, it could be a personal foul, an intentional foul (contact above the shoulders) or a flagrant foul.

And yes, as noted above, there is a flagrant foul in High School Basketball. The penalty for that flagrant foul is two free throws, he ball out of bounds, and he offending party is ejected from the game. There is no F1 or F2 as there is in NCAA and professional ball.
Reply With Quote
  #493  
Old 02-22-18, 10:24 AM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,450
oxat622
Every referee has their tipping point, but at what point would you get involved if the head coaches started barking at each other?
Reply With Quote
  #494  
Old 02-22-18, 10:49 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
Every referee has their tipping point, but at what point would you get involved if the head coaches started barking at each other?
Immediately
Reply With Quote
  #495  
Old 02-25-18, 05:04 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 142
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
Every referee has their tipping point, but at what point would you get involved if the head coaches started barking at each other?
Happened to me a few weeks ago. I get in between the two head coaches who are walking toward the table to confront each other, my partner (the R) comes in from behind and gives a double T. And, that was the visiting coach's second T, so he got dumped.

Last edited by AllSports12; 02-25-18 at 09:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #496  
Old 02-26-18, 12:54 PM
shoprat2 shoprat2 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 08-25-10
Posts: 238
shoprat2 is on a distinguished road
Team A has ball in forecourt. Player drives to basket and blocking foul called on Team B. Clearly signaled and number of player clearly given to scorekeeper As teams line up for free throw two officials huddle while third one waits for his bus. After several minutes official that called original foul goes to center court signals charge by team A and gives number of player that had lined up for free throw. Play is then restarted by Team A putting ball into play under their own basket after being called for foul. Anybody understand what happened.. .
Reply With Quote
  #497  
Old 02-26-18, 03:12 PM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,450
oxat622
At what point do technical fouls on both teams no longer offset each other so that no free throws are attempted by either team? Let's say A1 is called for a technical foul, 30 seconds or so pass and B1 is set to shoot the free throws, but just then B2 is assessed a technical for swearing. Are those offsetting technicals?
Reply With Quote
  #498  
Old 02-26-18, 07:31 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoprat2 View Post
Team A has ball in forecourt. Player drives to basket and blocking foul called on Team B. Clearly signaled and number of player clearly given to scorekeeper As teams line up for free throw two officials huddle while third one waits for his bus. After several minutes official that called original foul goes to center court signals charge by team A and gives number of player that had lined up for free throw. Play is then restarted by Team A putting ball into play under their own basket after being called for foul. Anybody understand what happened.. .
This is purely speculation, but it sounds as if one official may have had a player control foul on the play and the other official had a blocking foul (referred to as the dreaded "blarge").... If this were the case and both officials signaled their specific call, then the proper call would be a double foul instead of changing the call to a player control foul. Changing the call is only a possibility if the calling official truly reported this foul erroneously.
Reply With Quote
  #499  
Old 02-26-18, 07:34 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
At what point do technical fouls on both teams no longer offset each other so that no free throws are attempted by either team? Let's say A1 is called for a technical foul, 30 seconds or so pass and B1 is set to shoot the free throws, but just then B2 is assessed a technical for swearing. Are those offsetting technicals?
Technical Fouls are administered in their order of occurrence unless they occur simultaneously. There are times when FT's will not be attempted when the TF's are assessed as a part of corresponding players leaving the bench during a fight.
Reply With Quote
  #500  
Old 03-09-18, 06:47 PM
thePITman thePITman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 11-06-06
Location: Wayne County, Ohio
Posts: 9,370
thePITman is on a distinguished road
If a player gets T'd up for dunking during pregame, is that technical assessed to that player and/or the team? In other words, would a technical on the same player later in the game result in an ejection, or would it require 2 Ts during the game? And does a pregame technical for dunking count as the 1st team foul for that half?
Reply With Quote
  #501  
Old 03-09-18, 07:02 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by thePITman View Post
If a player gets T'd up for dunking during pregame, is that technical assessed to that player and/or the team? In other words, would a technical on the same player later in the game result in an ejection, or would it require 2 Ts during the game? And does a pregame technical for dunking count as the 1st team foul for that half?
For the player, it is a Personal Foul (1 of his 5) and a Technical Foul (counts as 1 of his 2 before he's DQ'd)

For the Head Coach, it is an Indirect Technical Foul. He also has no coaching box privileges for the game. (has to sit)

For the Team, it is a Team Foul,

The game begins with the opponent shooting two free throws and being awarded a throw-in at the division line opposite the scorer's table.
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 03-20-18, 02:53 PM
USA70PP USA70PP is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 07-26-16
Location: West of Marion, Ohio
Posts: 715
USA70PP is an unknown quantity at this point
Is the "T" for dunking only during pre-game warmups or can a player be "Ted" up during the game itself for dunking?
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 03-20-18, 11:16 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by USA70PP View Post
Is the "T" for dunking only during pre-game warmups or can a player be "Ted" up during the game itself for dunking?
Dunking during a dead ball is penalized with a Technical Foul. Examples are.......

During halftime

In between periods

During a time out

After the ball is whistled dead (foul, violation, granted time out request, etc...) and the dunk was not in progress just prior to the whistle
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 03-21-18, 04:39 AM
USA70PP USA70PP is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 07-26-16
Location: West of Marion, Ohio
Posts: 715
USA70PP is an unknown quantity at this point
Thanks. I was watching the Illinois class 4 finals and it was dunk after dunk.
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 04-18-18, 06:35 AM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,450
oxat622
Two players from opposing teams do some trash talking and body bumping. Enough to warrant a technical foul on both, but not a full on fight. One of the head coaches runs onto the floor to separate his player. Does the coach get a technical for leaving the bench?
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 04-18-18, 12:47 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
Two players from opposing teams do some trash talking and body bumping. Enough to warrant a technical foul on both, but not a full on fight. One of the head coaches runs onto the floor to separate his player. Does the coach get a technical for leaving the bench?
The Head Coach (not an assistant) is permitted to leave the bench and enter the court during a fight or when a fight may break out for the purpose of preventing the situation from escalating.

Based on what you describe above, there is no violation of the rule and no technical foul should be assessed.
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 05-05-18, 10:33 AM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,450
oxat622


Please tell the fools in this comment section that the move is not travelling.
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 05-05-18, 04:19 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Let's take a looksee....

She establishes a pivot foot....

Lifts the pivot foot.....

And shoots or passes before the pivot foot returns to the floor.....


And the refs are the problem????? (where in any rule book does it say you must dribble on this move?)
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 05-07-18, 09:56 AM
toledomansfield toledomansfield is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 11-04-15
Location: toledo or mansfield
Posts: 92
toledomansfield is on a distinguished road
what happens if an inbound pass goes through the hoop?
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 05-07-18, 10:06 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by toledomansfield View Post
what happens if an inbound pass goes through the hoop?
If untouched, it is a violation on the throwing team. The opponent is awarded a designated-spot throw-in at the location of the original throw-in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz