Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Football

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1381  
Old 08-12-18, 06:49 AM
chs1971 chs1971 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 07-30-16
Posts: 3,657
chs1971 is on a distinguished road
In varsity games receivers are eligible by both position and number. #77 cannot report in as an eligible.

Correct numbers are not required in sub-varsity games. We ask coaches to have their players report to us, but that is not required by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #1382  
Old 08-12-18, 07:10 AM
BigK72 BigK72 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 02-17-15
Posts: 130
BigK72 is on a distinguished road
So I can’t have 77 line up as a jumbo TE or FB and be eligible to go out for a pass?
Reply With Quote
  #1383  
Old 08-12-18, 07:11 AM
bb9 bb9 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-04-05
Location: Cleveland Western Suburbs
Posts: 376
bb9
He can line up there but is not eligible to catch a pass. Would need to change jerseys.
Reply With Quote
  #1384  
Old 08-12-18, 07:12 AM
BigK72 BigK72 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 02-17-15
Posts: 130
BigK72 is on a distinguished road
Thank you both!
Reply With Quote
  #1385  
Old 08-12-18, 10:08 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Good stuff gentlemen. Short and to the point on answers.

Too many times we tend to muddy the waters by adding all the "what if's" (view any officiating board or group to see that) that get away from the original question asked.
Reply With Quote
  #1386  
Old 08-18-18, 09:22 AM
blue60 blue60 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 02-19-07
Posts: 979
blue60 is on a distinguished road
Is tripping a running back legal, saw a defender out of position to make tackle throw his leg out at the running backs legs in an attempt to bring him down.
Reply With Quote
  #1387  
Old 08-18-18, 12:32 PM
chs1971 chs1971 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 07-30-16
Posts: 3,657
chs1971 is on a distinguished road
Seems odd, but yes. The player carrying the ball is the only person you can legally trip..
Reply With Quote
  #1388  
Old 08-22-18, 09:25 AM
3TimeLetterman 3TimeLetterman is offline
Moderated User
 
Join Date: 08-20-18
Location: Medina, OH. Go Bees!
Posts: 12
3TimeLetterman is on a distinguished road
Any rules on the center sneak? I've been running it with my 3rd graders and it works every time. Got a hefty kid that's nimble on his feet, opposing team never expects it when he just takes off and runs. Been wondering why more high school teams don't run it. He actually leads the league in rushing, hardest part about running him is keeping the boy out of the pantry so he can stay under eligible running weight!
Reply With Quote
  #1389  
Old 08-22-18, 09:39 AM
Tom.OH Tom.OH is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 02-20-12
Location: Upper West Chester
Posts: 328
Tom.OH is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3TimeLetterman View Post
Any rules on the center sneak? I've been running it with my 3rd graders and it works every time. Got a hefty kid that's nimble on his feet, opposing team never expects it when he just takes off and runs. Been wondering why more high school teams don't run it. He actually leads the league in rushing, hardest part about running him is keeping the boy out of the pantry so he can stay under eligible running weight!
High school teams don't use it because it's not legal...
Reply With Quote
  #1390  
Old 08-22-18, 11:53 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Again, a friendly reminder for officials answering questions with rule citations....

Make sure you cite the correct rule or the reply will be deleted.

************************************************** *

With regards to this play, it is (as Tom.OH indicated) illegal. (3rd graders should be learning the fundamentals of the game, not being taught via Madden or YouTube videos)

The snap must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman. (Rule 2-40)

There is no requirement that the ball be snapped to the QB.

Last edited by AllSports12; 08-22-18 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1391  
Old 08-22-18, 12:40 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3TimeLetterman View Post
Don't tell me how to coach my team Mr. AllSports12. We went 6-2 last year and scored off the center sneak every game. Fundamentals are overrated. I do what I need to do in order to lead my boys to championships. Belichick deflated footballs, I run the center sneak. Both got us rings.
I was going to delete the response, but decided to quote it before I deleted it, just to show what's wrong with youth sports.

It's all about a "ring" for a 3rd grade coach.
Reply With Quote
  #1392  
Old 08-22-18, 02:01 PM
reggieDunlop reggieDunlop is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 11-28-17
Posts: 15
reggieDunlop is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
Again, a friendly reminder for officials answering questions with rule citations....

Make sure you cite the correct rule or the reply will be deleted.

************************************************** *

With regards to this play, it is (as Tom.OH indicated) illegal. (3rd graders should be learning the fundamentals of the game, not being taught via Madden or YouTube videos)

The snap must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman. (Rule 2-40)

There is no requirement that the ball be snapped to the QB.
Also, rule 7-3-2a which says: "No player may hand the ball forward except during a scrimmage down before a change of possession, provided both players are in or behind the neutral zone and it is to: A lineman who has clearly faced his end line by moving both feet in a half-turn and is at least 1 yard behind his line when he receives the ball."
Reply With Quote
  #1393  
Old 08-22-18, 03:01 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by reggieDunlop View Post
Also, rule 7-3-2a which says: "No player may hand the ball forward except during a scrimmage down before a change of possession, provided both players are in or behind the neutral zone and it is to: A lineman who has clearly faced his end line by moving both feet in a half-turn and is at least 1 yard behind his line when he receives the ball."
7-3-2 refers to forward handing as the ball is legally snapped. It's a live ball foul.

On a "center sneak", the ball never leaves the hands of the snapper. (illegal snap) The ball touches the hands of the player under the snapper and he then carries out a fake while the snapper keeps the ball and scurries downfield undetected as the other 20 players are acting or reacting to the play.

An illegal snap is a dead ball foul.


Reply With Quote
  #1394  
Old 08-22-18, 03:28 PM
reggieDunlop reggieDunlop is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 11-28-17
Posts: 15
reggieDunlop is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
7-3-2 refers to forward handing as the ball is legally snapped. It's a live ball foul.

On a "center sneak", the ball never leaves the hands of the snapper. (illegal snap) The ball touches the hands of the player under the snapper and he then carries out a fake while the snapper keeps the ball and scurries downfield undetected as the other 20 players are acting or reacting to the play.

An illegal snap is a dead ball foul.

Got it, I wasn't exactly sure what was going on from the videos. I thought the ball was snapped and the QB handed it back to the center. I officiated for almost 20 years and never ran across a play like that.
Reply With Quote
  #1395  
Old 08-22-18, 04:03 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 36,453
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
I am watching a game and this just happened.

Team punted the ball, the receiving team tries a fair catch but the ball hits the receiver in the hands and rolls behind him. A member of the punting team touches the ball at the 4 in an attempt to gain possession but never does. The ball ends up in the end zone recovered by the punting team.

I would of thought that the receiving team would get the ball at the 20 and it be ruled a touch back, instead, the punting team is getting the ball at the 1 yard line.

play can be seen at the 1 hour 21 minute mark....

Reply With Quote
  #1396  
Old 08-22-18, 06:37 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamp2syd View Post
I am watching a game and this just happened.

Team punted the ball, the receiving team tries a fair catch but the ball hits the receiver in the hands and rolls behind him. A member of the punting team touches the ball at the 4 in an attempt to gain possession but never does. The ball ends up in the end zone recovered by the punting team.

I would of thought that the receiving team would get the ball at the 20 and it be ruled a touch back, instead, the punting team is getting the ball at the 1 yard line.

play can be seen at the 1 hour 21 minute mark....

Under NFHS rules this is a touchback.

Under NCAA rules, this is a touchdown. (one of the participating teams is from TX, which plays under NCAA rules.)

I have no idea why they placed the ball where they did, unless possession was ruled. I do know a couple of guys who worked different games in that event. I'll check with them to see if they can shed any light on the subject.
Reply With Quote
  #1397  
Old 08-22-18, 09:39 PM
hsfan60 hsfan60 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Posts: 1,854
hsfan60 is on a distinguished road
Wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
I was going to delete the response, but decided to quote it before I deleted it, just to show what's wrong with youth sports.

It's all about a "ring" for a 3rd grade coach.
Me, I and MY, what a jerk?
Reply With Quote
  #1398  
Old 08-25-18, 08:16 AM
Andy27 Andy27 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 08-28-16
Posts: 866
Andy27 is on a distinguished road
What are the rules on using video for coaching during games?
Reply With Quote
  #1399  
Old 08-25-18, 08:45 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy27 View Post
What are the rules on using video for coaching during games?
The use is legal by coaches and non-players.

The use is illegal for communication with a player inside the 9yd marks (the numbers).
Reply With Quote
  #1400  
Old 08-25-18, 09:26 AM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Had a great play for discussion in my game last night that I wanted to bring up here to see what some of the responses are...

Team K has the ball, 4th and 8 from Team Rís 10-yard line and attempts a field goal which is successful. There is a foul on the play, a personal foul for R hurdling over the line. What option do you think the coach of Team K went with?

Hint: NFHS rules have very few fouls that give automatic first downs.
Reply With Quote
  #1401  
Old 08-25-18, 10:51 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebrastripes View Post
Had a great play for discussion in my game last night that I wanted to bring up here to see what some of the responses are...

Team K has the ball, 4th and 8 from Team Rís 10-yard line and attempts a field goal which is successful. There is a foul on the play, a personal foul for R hurdling over the line. What option do you think the coach of Team K went with?

Hint: NFHS rules have very few fouls that give automatic first downs.
The choices for K are...


- Accept the results of the play. 3 points for the successful Field Goal and enforce the penalty at the succeeding spot. Kickoff from the opponent's 45yd line.

- Decline the penalty. 3 points for the successful Field Goal. KO from the 40

- Accept the penalty, replay the down 4th and 3 from the opponent's 5yd line. (0 points)
Reply With Quote
  #1402  
Old 08-25-18, 01:22 PM
king kong king kong is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 10-14-16
Posts: 208
king kong is on a distinguished road
Well, I got to impart my vast knowledge at my sons jv game today thanks to this thread. My son is center, 5’9”, 145 freshman. Defense ran an odd front with a nose guard, 6’2”, 215 and a junior. On a shotgun snap on second series my kid snaps and immediately lunges forward, no steps and cut blocks. He does it rest of series a few more times. 3rd series, he does it once and stops. He struggled rest of game blocking. After game I am walking by fence as our team heads to locker room, I asked my son why he stopped the cut block. He said one official told him o, it was the guy on other teams sideline, I asked him if he gave a reason, he said no. I walk on around and the officials are standing outside fieldhouse, I know everyone one of them and say hello and ask the one why he told the center to stop cutting. He said, because it’s illegal to cut in shotgun formation! I said, who told you, he said the other teams coaches reminded him of the rule. I said, no, it’s not a rule, you can cut if you meet the following criteria and said, ball in the tackle box, first movement down. They laughed and said, no it’s just a rule. I pulled out my phone, I had already looked up the thread about the alter game and showed them the case book ruling. They argued a little bit, and I said, it’s easiest just to say the ball is out of the tackle box! Lol

I know there are other criteria I just can’t remember them!
Reply With Quote
  #1403  
Old 08-25-18, 02:03 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by king kong View Post
Well, I got to impart my vast knowledge at my sons jv game today thanks to this thread. My son is center, 5’9”, 145 freshman. Defense ran an odd front with a nose guard, 6’2”, 215 and a junior. On a shotgun snap on second series my kid snaps and immediately lunges forward, no steps and cut blocks. He does it rest of series a few more times. 3rd series, he does it once and stops. He struggled rest of game blocking. After game I am walking by fence as our team heads to locker room, I asked my son why he stopped the cut block. He said one official told him o, it was the guy on other teams sideline, I asked him if he gave a reason, he said no. I walk on around and the officials are standing outside fieldhouse, I know everyone one of them and say hello and ask the one why he told the center to stop cutting. He said, because it’s illegal to cut in shotgun formation! I said, who told you, he said the other teams coaches reminded him of the rule. I said, no, it’s not a rule, you can cut if you meet the following criteria and said, ball in the tackle box, first movement down. They laughed and said, no it’s just a rule. I pulled out my phone, I had already looked up the thread about the alter game and showed them the case book ruling. They argued a little bit, and I said, it’s easiest just to say the ball is out of the tackle box! Lol

I know there are other criteria I just can’t remember them!
The most important thing to remember is while in the shotgun formation, the block must be immediate.

Last edited by AllSports12; 08-25-18 at 02:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1404  
Old 08-25-18, 02:21 PM
chs1971 chs1971 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 07-30-16
Posts: 3,657
chs1971 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsfan60 View Post
Me, I and MY, what a jerk?
Yeah, but he and the other 8 year olds all have rings, just like Belichick.
Reply With Quote
  #1405  
Old 08-25-18, 02:47 PM
hsfan60 hsfan60 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 09-10-06
Posts: 1,854
hsfan60 is on a distinguished road
LIke Belichick???

Quote:
Originally Posted by chs1971 View Post
Yeah, but he and the other 8 year olds all have rings, just like Belichick.
THat's a good one
Reply With Quote
  #1406  
Old 08-25-18, 03:11 PM
king kong king kong is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 10-14-16
Posts: 208
king kong is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
The most important thing to remember is while in the shotgun formation, the block must be immediate.
It was immediate. He took no steps, as soon as his hand motion started he was diving forward. I worked with him on it, being undersized I told him to use it every once in a while to keep the defender on his heels. Being that the center has the ball, it would probably be the best O line position to cut! ��
Reply With Quote
  #1407  
Old 08-28-18, 06:03 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 36,453
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
2 second rule?

Fremont Ross @ Holland Springfield game, Ross down by 1 with 6 seconds left. Throws a pass complete to the 1 yard line for a first down with 1.1 seconds left. They line up and immediately down the ball. No time went off the clock. Springfield's coach went on to the field to argue. A huge discussion took place that lasted over 5 minutes. Game was then called over. Springfield coaches claimed that there must be more than 2 seconds in order to down the ball... is there a 2 second rule or is this a judgement call.

Also, before this happened with Springfield having the ball trying to run the clock out they took back to back motion penalties. Both times, the clock started at the whistle. I thought that the official had the option of stopping the clock during situations like this?

thanks! and yes, I watch a ton of HS games each week.... every time I think I've seen it all ....
Reply With Quote
  #1408  
Old 08-28-18, 08:33 PM
RB22 RB22 is online now
Junior Varsity
 
Join Date: 11-14-17
Posts: 34
RB22 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamp2syd View Post
2 second rule?

Fremont Ross @ Holland Springfield game, Ross down by 1 with 6 seconds left. Throws a pass complete to the 1 yard line for a first down with 1.1 seconds left. They line up and immediately down the ball. No time went off the clock. Springfield's coach went on to the field to argue. A huge discussion took place that lasted over 5 minutes. Game was then called over. Springfield coaches claimed that there must be more than 2 seconds in order to down the ball... is there a 2 second rule or is this a judgement call.

Also, before this happened with Springfield having the ball trying to run the clock out they took back to back motion penalties. Both times, the clock started at the whistle. I thought that the official had the option of stopping the clock during situations like this?

thanks! and yes, I watch a ton of HS games each week.... every time I think I've seen it all ....


There is no 2 second rule. I have seen the play and there are some unknowns. Was the previous play ruled out of bounds. When the R blows the ready he does not wind the clock. As an official if you can not definitively say what the status of the clock should be then leave it as is. Your second question: Under 2 minutes to play in the 2/4 quarters the offended team has the option of starting the clock on the snap.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #1409  
Old 08-29-18, 07:00 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,487
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamp2syd View Post
2 second rule?

Fremont Ross @ Holland Springfield game, Ross down by 1 with 6 seconds left. Throws a pass complete to the 1 yard line for a first down with 1.1 seconds left. They line up and immediately down the ball. No time went off the clock. Springfield's coach went on to the field to argue. A huge discussion took place that lasted over 5 minutes. Game was then called over. Springfield coaches claimed that there must be more than 2 seconds in order to down the ball... is there a 2 second rule or is this a judgement call.

Also, before this happened with Springfield having the ball trying to run the clock out they took back to back motion penalties. Both times, the clock started at the whistle. I thought that the official had the option of stopping the clock during situations like this?

thanks! and yes, I watch a ton of HS games each week.... every time I think I've seen it all ....

We don't know what the actual discussion between the crew or between the crew and the coaches was. There was a published article that quoted a coach citing a 2 second run off rule....... Absent being in either of those huddles, we can only speculate what was said...

Now, having said that.... Let's clear the air on all this (some of this already has been correctly said)

Spiking The Ball

- There is no NFHS rule that prescribes a 2 second run off for a spiked ball after a hand-to-hand snap.

- There is no NCAA rule that prescribes a 2 second run off for a spiked ball after a hand-to-hand snap.

- There is an NCAA rule (3-2-5) that states if the game clock is stopped and will start on the Referee's signal with 3 or more seconds on the clock, "the offense may reasonably expect to throw the ball directly to the ground (Rule 7-3-2-f ) and have enough time for another play. With two seconds or one second on the game clock there is enough time for only one play."

- There is an NFHS rule that allows for the Referee to add or remove time from the clock due to an obvious timing error.

Penalties and Their Impact on Clock Status

- Under NFHS rules, in the final 2 minutes of either half, the offended team has the option of having the clock start at the Referee's ready-for-play signal or at the snap.

- The Referee has (and always has had) the option to start the clock on the ready-for-play signal or at the snap if either team is trying to illegally conserve or consume time.

************************************************** ***********

Again, with regards to the play in question, we don't actually know what the conversations were and why the officials ruled as they did. If they invoked a "2 second run off" solution, they were wrong....

If they decided that at 1.1 remaining they had knowledge that it took longer than that time to complete the play, then they applied the rule correctly.

Time to move on.......
Reply With Quote
  #1410  
Old 08-31-18, 11:23 PM
ICBM ICBM is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 10-16-14
Posts: 841
ICBM is on a distinguished road
2nd and goal. Run play into the line. Defender strips the ball just as the whistle blows. At least that was the call. Play is over. Defender throws the ball down in frustration. I’m assuming Dead ball foul. Unsportsmanlike. Does the down count?
They marked off half the distance and replayed the down but the play was already over. Should the down have counted and made it third down? It took five plays to score.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz