Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Girls HS Sports > Girls Basketball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-17, 11:59 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,996
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by Andy27 View Post
This is in reference to an NCAA D3 game, but I figured this was the best place to ask:
Team A has the ball on their end of the floor. Team A's coach says something to get a technical. Team B shot two free throws but Team A retained possession.

Is this handleddifferent in college than in high school? I always thought a technical was two shots and possession.
Under NCAA rules, play resumes after this type of technical foul at the point of interruption. The point of interruption here is A is in possession of the ball, therefore A gets the ball for a throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was when play was stopped for the technical. (there are some exceptions to this both under NCAA-M and NCAA-W)

Under NFHS rules, part of the penalty for a technical foul is awarding the opponent the ball for a designated spot throw in at the division line opposite the scorer's table after the two free throws are attempted.
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-17, 05:57 PM
Andy27 Andy27 is offline
All Ohio
Join Date: 08-28-16
Posts: 785
Andy27 is on a distinguished road
Ok, thanksfor that. Never knew that.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz