Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Baseball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 04-09-14, 10:52 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucksman View Post
Fighting Eagles:

I think it's because the ball did not technically cross the plane of first/third base in fair territory before ending in foul territory (by definition when the ball hits the base, it has crossed the front of the base in fair territory). Bizarre situation, but it's the only sensible explanation I can come up with.
No only sensible, but supported by rule.

The pitching plate is in front of an imaginary line running from the front corner of 1st and 3ed bases. The fact that it hits the plate means nothing.

This is one of those plays where you could win a few beverages of your choice with friends and family buying.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 04-14-14, 09:41 PM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 42,869
Yappi will become famous soon enough
In HS rules, does the batter need to make an effort to get out of the way of a pitch to be awarded first base on a HBP.

A pitch is thrown inside and the batter tries to move out of the way but the ball hits the knob of the bat and goes into foul territory. Foul ball, HBP, or a ball?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 04-15-14, 07:56 AM
davis5305 davis5305 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 08-23-09
Posts: 243
davis5305 is on a distinguished road
Runner on third batter hits ground ball to short stop, play is deemed to be catcher interference and batter is awarded first, should runner be advanced to home? Or is catcher interference a dead ball no advance for the baserunner?

Runner was advanced and was a deciding play in a 1 run game.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 04-15-14, 10:24 AM
Voice Voice is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-09-10
Posts: 237
Voice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by davis5305 View Post
Runner on third batter hits ground ball to short stop, play is deemed to be catcher interference and batter is awarded first, should runner be advanced to home? Or is catcher interference a dead ball no advance for the baserunner?

Runner was advanced and was a deciding play in a 1 run game.
Did the batter make it to first without getting put out? Catcher interference is a delayed dead ball.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 04-15-14, 10:26 AM
Voice Voice is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-09-10
Posts: 237
Voice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
In HS rules, does the batter need to make an effort to get out of the way of a pitch to be awarded first base on a HBP.

A pitch is thrown inside and the batter tries to move out of the way but the ball hits the knob of the bat and goes into foul territory. Foul ball, HBP, or a ball?
A batter cannot permit a pitch to hit him.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 04-15-14, 11:17 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by davis5305 View Post
Runner on third batter hits ground ball to short stop, play is deemed to be catcher interference and batter is awarded first, should runner be advanced to home? Or is catcher interference a dead ball no advance for the baserunner?

Runner was advanced and was a deciding play in a 1 run game.
This is a delayed dead ball. The play should be allowed to continue.

If the batter-runner and all runners advanced at least one base, then the obstruction is ignored. (in high school this is catcher's obstruction)

If the above does not happen, the head coach may take the result of the play and decline the obstruction penalty.

If he chooses the penalty, it is enforced as follows...

- The batter is awarded first base
- If any runner was attempting to steal on the pitch (or score via a squeeze attempt), then they are awarded the base they were advancing to.
- Any runner not attempting to advance on the pitch is returned to the base occupied at the time of the pitch unless forced to move by a prior runner.


Based on what your describe, the runner should have been returned to third if the batter was awarded first.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04-15-14, 11:24 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
In HS rules, does the batter need to make an effort to get out of the way of a pitch to be awarded first base on a HBP.
By rule the batter shall not permit a pitched ball to touch him. However, it is solely up to the umpire whether or not this occurred. Many times batters are "locked up" when a pitch heads their way. Many times people view a lack of movement by the batter as permitting the ball to hit him. This isn't always the case.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
A pitch is thrown inside and the batter tries to move out of the way but the ball hits the knob of the bat and goes into foul territory. Foul ball, HBP, or a ball?
If the ball comes to rest in foul territory or is touched by the defense in foul territory before it bounds fair, it's a foul ball.

Last edited by AllSports12; 04-28-14 at 04:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 04-17-14, 07:23 PM
D1ball D1ball is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 08-20-12
Posts: 54
D1ball is on a distinguished road
Batter turns to square to put a bunt down and one foot is in the box and the other is behind home plate and not on the plate. Puts ball in play and is called out for stepping behind the plate to make contact with the ball. What is the correct call out or safe as he beat out the throw to first?
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 04-17-14, 08:13 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
If a batter hits a ball fair or foul with a foot or knee on the ground entirely outside the batter's box, he is declared out by rule.

If any part of that foot is touching the line, he is considered in the box. If any part of his foot touches the plate, he is out by rule.

Sounds like from your description, the batter was out of the box.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 04-18-14, 05:52 PM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 42,869
Yappi will become famous soon enough
Batter at the plate with a 1-0 count. Pitcher goes into his windup and the offensive bench yells loudly in unison. Umpire calls interference, batter out. Correct call?
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 04-18-14, 06:07 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
Batter at the plate with a 1-0 count. Pitcher goes into his windup and the offensive bench yells loudly in unison. Umpire calls interference, batter out. Correct call?
No.

At the end of the play (pitch, hit, out...etc) issue a warning to the individual/individuals involved. Eject on the next occurrence.

This is becoming more and more prevalent in baseball. There is nothing wrong with chatter, however if it becomes unsportsmanlike in nature or judged to be specifically done to interrupt the pitcher as he his pitching the ball (the chatter gets louder when he is about tho deliver) the act is now illegal and should be dealt with.

A word with the Head Coach is recommended when the warning is issued.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 04-18-14, 10:42 PM
AnUnbiasedOpinion AnUnbiasedOpinion is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 03-31-06
Posts: 648
AnUnbiasedOpinion is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
If any part of his foot touches the plate, he is out by rule.
When did this change? the batter's box is only 6 inches from the plate. Most players have a foot that is longer than 6 inches. So a batter can easily have his tour touching home plate while his heel is still within the batter's box.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 04-19-14, 07:06 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnUnbiasedOpinion View Post
When did this change? the batter's box is only 6 inches from the plate. Most players have a foot that is longer than 6 inches. So a batter can easily have his tour touching home plate while his heel is still within the batter's box.
It's not an infraction under Official Baseball Rules. However, it's always been the case in High School rules.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 04-21-14, 12:03 PM
pjsvb pjsvb is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Posts: 12
pjsvb is on a distinguished road
Batter hits ball to right center gap, misses first base when running, and ends up on second base. Team appeals, pitcher throws to first, ump calls him out. How is that scored? 1-3 putout???
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 04-21-14, 12:48 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjsvb View Post
Batter hits ball to right center gap, misses first base when running, and ends up on second base. Team appeals, pitcher throws to first, ump calls him out. How is that scored? 1-3 putout???
In High School, this would be 3 unassisted.

If the appeal for missing a base is a dead ball verbal appeal, the putout is credited to the fielder at that base.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 04-21-14, 01:12 PM
AnUnbiasedOpinion AnUnbiasedOpinion is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 03-31-06
Posts: 648
AnUnbiasedOpinion is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
It's not an infraction under Official Baseball Rules. However, it's always been the case in High School rules.
Thanks - it's right there in black and white:
Section 7.3 Batting Infractions - A batter shall not:
Art. 2 . . . Hit the ball fair or foul while either foot or knee is touching the
ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box or touching home plate.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 04-21-14, 02:25 PM
pjsvb pjsvb is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Posts: 12
pjsvb is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
In High School, this would be 3 unassisted.

If the appeal for missing a base is a dead ball verbal appeal, the putout is credited to the fielder at that base.
Does it go in the books as a hit?
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 04-22-14, 06:42 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjsvb View Post
Does it go in the books as a hit?
No
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 04-22-14, 10:14 PM
SkipChaser82 SkipChaser82 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 10-25-03
Posts: 223
SkipChaser82
Here's one:

Runner at 2B. Ball hit to 3b, he throws across to get runner at 1B. Runner at 2b goes to 3B, and 1Bman throws across field to try to get him. Ball skips past 3Bman and sticks in fence about waist high. The SS who was backing up throw immediately goes to get the ball, pulls it out of fence and runner at 3B can't advance.

Should that have been an immediately "Dead Ball" as soon as it stuck in the fence? and the runner awarded Home? Or since the SS ran and grabbed the ball was it a situation where the runner COULD have gone and tried to get all he could get?

THanks.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 04-23-14, 06:33 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
The ball is dead as soon as it becomes lodged. Two bases are awarded to each runner from where they were at the time of the throw.

In this situation, the runner who stated at 2nd is awarded home.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 04-23-14, 08:26 AM
OSUBuckeye2001 OSUBuckeye2001 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-11-13
Location: National Champs
Posts: 353
OSUBuckeye2001 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
The ball is dead as soon as it becomes lodged. Two bases are awarded to each runner from where they were at the time of the throw.

In this situation, the runner who stated at 2nd is awarded home.
Interesting. I heard that if you play the ball its live but if it gets stuck you throw you hands but the game gets stopped, But the second you got after it the ball is played as live. I trust what your saying I was just telling you what Ive heard said before but a few umpires.
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 04-23-14, 09:54 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Once the ball becomes dead either by rule or by a statement of an umpire, they only way to make the ball live is for the pitcher have the ball on the rubber, the catcher and batter ready for play (in their respective boxes) and the Plate Umpire declares "Play".

What commonly happens (what you and the other umpires you spoke with may be referring to) is when a ball goes under a fence or enters an area designated as dead ball territory, (batting turtle, bench in a bullpen area, etc...) they are instructed to throw their hands up indicating that the ball is not accessible. These areas are usually out of sight from the umpires and will require them to go and physically inspect the status of the ball. If the ball is indeed in dead ball territory or dead by rule, then base awards will be meted out by rule. If the player "goes digging' then throws his/her hands up, the umpires can award bases over an above what is dictated by rule. This prevents a player pushing a ball into dead ball territory and gaining a potential advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 04-25-14, 10:19 PM
bb9 bb9 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-04-05
Location: Cleveland Western Suburbs
Posts: 309
bb9
If the umpire sees the ball is dead, he kills the play immediately, whether the fielder goes after it or not.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 04-26-14, 02:47 PM
bballer62 bballer62 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 03-10-09
Posts: 175
bballer62 is on a distinguished road
Question.....is there any rule governing music being played between innings or while teams are warming up in ohsaa?
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 04-26-14, 02:52 PM
tallmadge H2 dad tallmadge H2 dad is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-22-05
Location: T-town via the Archbishop
Posts: 11,586
tallmadge H2 dad will become famous soon enough
Runners on 1st and 2nd, 1 out.

Ball is pop up to first baseman. Umpire calls infield fly, batter out. The first base runner runs into the 1st baseman as he is returning to 1st base and 1st baseman is in process of catching the ball. Is the runner out also?
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 04-26-14, 05:07 PM
bucksman bucksman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-10-01
Location: Having fun somewhere :-)
Posts: 30,523
bucksman will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallmadge H2 dad View Post
Runners on 1st and 2nd, 1 out.

Ball is pop up to first baseman. Umpire calls infield fly, batter out. The first base runner runs into the 1st baseman as he is returning to 1st base and 1st baseman is in process of catching the ball. Is the runner out also?
The runner could be ruled out for interference, as the fielder has the right to make the first play on the ball. I am pretty confident that then becomes a double play. Furthermore, if the umpire deems the contact by the runner at first base to be malicious, said runner could be ejected from the game.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 04-26-14, 10:23 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucksman View Post
The runner could be ruled out for interference, as the fielder has the right to make the first play on the ball. I am pretty confident that then becomes a double play. Furthermore, if the umpire deems the contact by the runner at first base to be malicious, said runner could be ejected from the game.
The batter runner is out by rule for the IFF. The runner is out by rule for the interference. The inning is over.

You cannot ignore the IFF, and you cannot ignore the interference as the runner are permitted to advance at their own risk. The interference can hinder or impede the fielder from making the catch and then making a play on a runner trying to advance or return to a base.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 04-26-14, 10:25 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballer62 View Post
Question.....is there any rule governing music being played between innings or while teams are warming up in ohsaa?
Schools are expected to use common sense and good taste with regards to music played between innings or during batter "walk-ups".

If there is a problem with this, a game report should be filed by the umpires.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 04-28-14, 09:43 AM
DP Lane DP Lane is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 04-13-12
Posts: 21
DP Lane is on a distinguished road
here's one:

Runners on 1st, 3rd. one out. Batter hits short pop fly into right field. BU goes out for possible trap. HPU watching fair/foul line.

Runner at 3rd leaves before catch by RF. Runs all but 4-5 steps from home, retreats back toward third; 3rd Base Fielder catches relay throw from 1st baseman ( thrown to him by RF after catch). HPU calls runner safe.

Defensive team's coach argues this is a live ball appeal; therefore no tag need be applied to runner heading back to third( obviously Runner believed he left too early as well.) Correct or no?
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 04-28-14, 10:36 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,747
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DP Lane View Post
Runners on 1st, 3rd. one out. Batter hits short pop fly into right field. BU goes out for possible trap. HPU watching fair/foul line.

Runner at 3rd leaves before catch by RF. Runs all but 4-5 steps from home, retreats back toward third; 3rd Base Fielder catches relay throw from 1st baseman ( thrown to him by RF after catch). HPU calls runner safe.

Defensive team's coach argues this is a live ball appeal; therefore no tag need be applied to runner heading back to third( obviously Runner believed he left too early as well.) Correct or no?
First, with runners at 1st and 3rd, the Base Umpire has no business leaving the infield for a possible trap.....ever.... Since you indicated the Plate Umpire is watching for fair/foul, that tells me the ball is down the line, placing the responsibility for fair/foul - catch/no catch - and the tag up by the runner at third on this play all on the the Plate Umpire.

If the throw to third beat the runner back to the base, then the runner is out, provided he left early or did not tag up at all.

Was an explanation given for the safe call?

Last edited by AllSports12; 04-28-14 at 12:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz