Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Football

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #301  
Old 08-23-14, 08:07 AM
COLTCOUNTRY COLTCOUNTRY is online now
All World
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Posts: 2,851
COLTCOUNTRY is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
It's illegal to block or contact an opponent that is in a defenseless position or one who is obviously not a part of the play.

Examples are (but not limited to) the following.

- On a kickoff, after the ball is kicked, the kicker moves slowly towards midfield. A member of the receiving team advances on the kicker from a distance of 20 yards and buries him all while the return man for the receiving team is being tackled at his own 25 yard line.

- After an interception, the interceptor is returning the ball up the sideline at his own 30 yard line. His teammate executes a blind side block on an opponent at the 30 yard line, but in the center of the field.

Both hits are deemed illegal because neither opponent was in a poistion to make a play or influence a play on the runner.
The call last night the player was probably about 15 yards from the player with the ball.

Not sure if I like this rule. Takes away the chance to block the speedster who is attempting to run down the ball carrier and probably will run the guy down since no one is allowed to block him. Seems silly to me.
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 08-23-14, 03:28 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by COLTCOUNTRY View Post
The call last night the player was probably about 15 yards from the player with the ball.

Not sure if I like this rule. Takes away the chance to block the speedster who is attempting to run down the ball carrier and probably will run the guy down since no one is allowed to block him. Seems silly to me.
These are HTBT calls.... (had to be there) Sometimes 15 yards is too far, sometimes it's fine. You have to take into consideration the entirety of the play.

The reason for the rule...... safety.
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 08-28-14, 08:01 PM
smurfyeah19 smurfyeah19 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 02-03-12
Posts: 491
smurfyeah19 is on a distinguished road
I just want to say this. Players and parents I can't as a ref stress how important proper tackling is and to avoid targeting. Just don't do it, a lot of refs are going to lean towards an ejection almost every time and that'll cost ya two games
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 08-30-14, 07:32 PM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50,087
Yappi will become famous soon enough
What is the face guarding rule on a pass in HS football?
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 08-30-14, 07:42 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
It is pass interference if a player hinders the vision of an opponent while making no attempt to catch, intercept or bat the ball, even if no contact occurs.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 08-30-14, 08:41 PM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Posts: 9,726
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
A forth down and 20 play begins with a false start on the offense and ends with a personal foul for a late hit in the defense after a ten yard run. Where is the ball spotted? What down is it?
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 08-31-14, 06:50 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastYoungstown View Post
A forth down and 20 play begins with a false start on the offense and ends with a personal foul for a late hit in the defense after a ten yard run. Where is the ball spotted? What down is it?
After the false start penalty enforcement it is 4th and 25.

The 10 yard run is short of the line to gain, so the ball changes possession on downs. The opponent is penalized for the dead ball foul and starts their new possession 1sgt and 10 from a spot that is 15 s behind the dead ball spot. (the penalty could also be half the distance to the goal)

This happens more often than you think and is often penalized incorrectly. The offense by, rule will never retain possession in this instance.
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 08-31-14, 09:43 AM
cabezadecaballo cabezadecaballo is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-06-12
Location: over here
Posts: 32,495
cabezadecaballo will become famous soon enough
Terrible call, without question, in a JV game yesterday. I am curious as to what the proper correction should have been.

3rd and 8, QB and RB sell a read option so well that it fakes out a defender enough to tackle the RB without the ball 2.5 yds BLoS. Unfortunately, the back judge totally bought it too, and he blows the play dead. Meanwhile, the QB and the ball are 8 yards away and 3 short of the first down. After a zebra huddle, the offense gets the ball 4th and 3.

What should have happened ? Any set protocol, or all judgement here ?
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 08-31-14, 10:14 AM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Posts: 9,726
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
After the false start penalty enforcement it is 4th and 25.

The 10 yard run is short of the line to gain, so the ball changes possession on downs. The opponent is penalized for the dead ball foul and starts their new possession 1sgt and 10 from a spot that is 15 s behind the dead ball spot. (the penalty could also be half the distance to the goal)

This happens more often than you think and is often penalized incorrectly. The offense by, rule will never retain possession in this instance.
Thank you. The call was forth and ten and the team punted, so it wasn't a game changer. It just didn't seem correct though.
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 08-31-14, 10:33 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabezadecaballo View Post
Terrible call, without question, in a JV game yesterday. I am curious as to what the proper correction should have been.

3rd and 8, QB and RB sell a read option so well that it fakes out a defender enough to tackle the RB without the ball 2.5 yds BLoS. Unfortunately, the back judge totally bought it too, and he blows the play dead. Meanwhile, the QB and the ball are 8 yards away and 3 short of the first down. After a zebra huddle, the offense gets the ball 4th and 3.

What should have happened ? Any set protocol, or all judgement here ?
When an inadvertent whistle occurs with player possession, by rule, the team in possession may choose to take the ball at the spot where the ball was blown dead or they may choose to replay the down. (if a live ball foul occurs prior to the IW and the penalty is accepted, the IW is ignored)

Sounds like they choose to take the ball at the spot where it was blown dead. At least the crew didn't make a bad situation worse by improperly enforcing the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 08-31-14, 10:38 AM
cabezadecaballo cabezadecaballo is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-06-12
Location: over here
Posts: 32,495
cabezadecaballo will become famous soon enough
First down was gained on the next play, and the team that had the ball ended up winning by multiple scores, so no real harm anyway. It was just weird to see.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 08-31-14, 10:43 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastYoungstown View Post
Thank you. The call was forth and ten and the team punted, so it wasn't a game changer. It just didn't seem correct though.
Sometimes it looks like it doesn't have an impact when it actually does....

Example -- Ball is spotted at the 50 and Team A punts, pinning Team B inside their own 5 yard line. Puts team B at a huge disadvantage when you take into consideration that they should have had the ball 1st and 10 at the 50.

Worse yet, Team A punts, Team B muffs the punt and Team A recovers at the 5 yard line......

While I'm not a guy who buys into the "refs cost us the game with that call" rhetoric, a misapplication the rules is inexcusable by an officiating crew.
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 08-31-14, 11:10 AM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Posts: 9,726
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
Sometimes it looks like it doesn't have an impact when it actually does....

Example -- Ball is spotted at the 50 and Team A punts, pinning Team B inside their own 5 yard line. Puts team B at a huge disadvantage when you take into consideration that they should have had the ball 1st and 10 at the 50.

Worse yet, Team A punts, Team B muffs the punt and Team A recovers at the 5 yard line......

While I'm not a guy who buys into the "refs cost us the game with that call" rhetoric, a misapplication the rules is inexcusable by an officiating crew.
I agree totally. It was just fortunate that it wasn't a game changer in this case.
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 08-31-14, 11:46 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Until anyone officiates and has an IW, they have no idea how bad that official feels.
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 09-01-14, 08:41 PM
ReLoad ReLoad is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 08-23-09
Posts: 4,648
ReLoad is an unknown quantity at this point
In Saturday's game between St. Xavier and East St. Louis the following occurred:
The line of scrimmage was the ESL 9 yard line.
It was 4th down and 10.
The ESL punter was in the back of their end zone.
His punt went straight up in the air.
The punter tried to catch it at the 5 yard line (behind the line of scrimmage) but dropped it and it rolled forward he then picked it up around the 9 yard line (line of scrimmage) and ran to the 24 yard line where he was tackled.
The referees gave the ball to ESL, 1st and 10 at their 24 yard line.
Weirdest punt play I can recall.
Was this the correct call?
Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 09-01-14, 09:14 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReLoad View Post
In Saturday's game between St. Xavier and East St. Louis the following occurred:
The line of scrimmage was the ESL 9 yard line.
It was 4th down and 10.
The ESL punter was in the back of their end zone.
His punt went straight up in the air.
The punter tried to catch it at the 5 yard line (behind the line of scrimmage) but dropped it and it rolled forward he then picked it up around the 9 yard line (line of scrimmage) and ran to the 24 yard line where he was tackled.
The referees gave the ball to ESL, 1st and 10 at their 24 yard line.
Weirdest punt play I can recall.
Was this the correct call?
Yes

Had the ball been recovered past the neutral zone, the ball would have been blown dead at the point where the ESL player recovered the ball and it would have been 1st an 10 (possibly 1st and goal) for the receiving team.
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 09-01-14, 10:19 PM
SportsGenius SportsGenius is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 02-04-13
Posts: 2,214
SportsGenius is on a distinguished road
How can that be legal?
So what youre saying is, a teams punter could punt it basically to himself, catch it and run for a first down? That makes zero sense
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 09-01-14, 11:45 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by SportsGenius View Post
How can that be legal?

It's legal because the ball was recovered behind the neutral zone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SportsGenius View Post
So what youre saying is, a teams punter could punt it basically to himself, catch it and run for a first down? That makes zero sense
Yes

He could also pass it to a teammate or even kick it again.

Last edited by AllSports12; 09-02-14 at 06:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 09-02-14, 01:59 PM
tom_hsfootball_fan tom_hsfootball_fan is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 10-06-01
Location: Kinsale, IE
Posts: 2,871
tom_hsfootball_fan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
He could also pass it to a teammate or even kick it again.
Rule 6, Section 2, ART. 3 . . .
Any K player may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is in
or behind the neutral zone and advance, unless it is during a try.


The punter could actually intentionally kick the ball to his teammate behind the line of scrimmage, and that guy could run for the first down. So, if the punter is on the run from the rush and gets to the outside, one of his teammates could be near the sideline behind the line of scrimmage, receive the kick and run down the sideline... and there's not even any "eligibility" restrictions like on a forward pass. I've heard of teams practicing it... never seen it in actual play.
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 09-02-14, 02:43 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_hsfootball_fan View Post
Rule 6, Section 2, ART. 3 . . .
Any K player may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is in
or behind the neutral zone and advance, unless it is during a try.


The punter could actually intentionally kick the ball to his teammate behind the line of scrimmage, and that guy could run for the first down. So, if the punter is on the run from the rush and gets to the outside, one of his teammates could be near the sideline behind the line of scrimmage, receive the kick and run down the sideline... and there's not even any "eligibility" restrictions like on a forward pass. I've heard of teams practicing it... never seen it in actual play.
That one could win you adult beverages for the entire weekend at your local watering hole.
Reply With Quote
  #321  
Old 09-04-14, 09:03 AM
Wadz06 Wadz06 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-17-13
Posts: 1,896
Wadz06 is on a distinguished road
That's interesting

Q: offense delay of game while clock is running. Does this stop the clock? No 30 point rule in play. Does the clock stop until the next snap?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 09-04-14, 09:20 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadz06 View Post
That's interesting

Q: offense delay of game while clock is running. Does this stop the clock? No 30 point rule in play. Does the clock stop until the next snap?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No

The only stoppages are for....

An official's time-out for an injured player
A charged time out
Change of possession occurs at the end of a down
End of a period
A score by either team
Any extended delay

After any of the above, the clock will start on the ready for play, not the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 09-04-14, 09:42 AM
Wadz06 Wadz06 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-17-13
Posts: 1,896
Wadz06 is on a distinguished road
Then why do teams take a knee? If you have the room, walk off the field with 2 minutes because delay of game penalties would eat up clock?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 09-04-14, 10:18 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadz06 View Post
Then why do teams take a knee? If you have the room, walk off the field with 2 minutes because delay of game penalties would eat up clock?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
In 37 years of officiating, I have never seen a team take repeated delay of game penalties to run out the clock. They take the play clock down to close to zero and then snap the ball, followed by the knee. In fact, there is a rule against a team fouling repeatedly or intentionally to either conserve or eat up time.

Remember, there is nothing stopping the teams from ending a game early. If both agree......it's over.

Rarely does that happen.

Last edited by AllSports12; 09-04-14 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 09-04-14, 11:24 AM
Wadz06 Wadz06 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-17-13
Posts: 1,896
Wadz06 is on a distinguished road
What's the penalty for repeated fouling


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 09-04-14, 12:01 PM
jmog jmog is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 05-11-12
Posts: 2,736
jmog is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
No

The only stoppages are for....

An official's time-out for an injured player
A charged time out
Change of possession occurs at the end of a down
End of a period
A score by either team
Any extended delay

After any of the above, the clock will start on the ready for play, not the snap.
Out of bounds?
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 09-04-14, 12:10 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadz06 View Post
What's the penalty for repeated fouling


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
In the matter of repeated delay of game fouls, the clock would be stopped and not restarted until the ball is snapped.

If a team fouls to stop the clock, it will start on the ready for play.
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 09-04-14, 12:10 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,255
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmog View Post
Out of bounds?
No... Only the 6 listed
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 09-04-14, 03:16 PM
Wadz06 Wadz06 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-17-13
Posts: 1,896
Wadz06 is on a distinguished road
Key words

After any of the above, the clock will start on the ready for play, not the snap.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 09-04-14, 05:05 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 8,132
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadz06 View Post
What's the penalty for repeated fouling
Rule 10: Section 9: Article 5:

Unfair act.
... neither team shall commit any act which, in the opinion
of the refree, tends to make a travesty of the game.

Penality: Unfair act - the refree any penalty he considers equitable, including the award of a score - (for repeated fouls a forfeiture may be awarded)


pup note: the rule specificly cites repeated fouls as those that would continue to
half the distance to the goal (Art:2). Continuing to foul to prolong the game would
fall under ART.5.

:>---
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz