Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Track & Field/Cross Country

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now

Old 03-16-19, 01:17 PM
Lancers lead the way!

Lancermania is on a distinguished road
Pay to Play could be covered by the state of ohio if legalized gambling is approved

https://cincinnatienquirer-oh.newsme...id_subscriber&
Sponsored Links
Old 03-16-19, 01:29 PM
Ron Jeremey Stunt Double

skins99 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to skins99
Interesting. I have always found the insane jump in pay to play cost to be ludicrous. I graduated in 1999 and it cost me $25 for track. The number has risen 10 fold or more.
Old 03-16-19, 02:55 PM
All American

lane4 is on a distinguished road
Husted has been a long-time critic of pay to play, and advocate of abolishing it.

https://www.cleveland.com/open/2016/...d_to_redu.html

Hopefully something will come of this now that Husted is in a position of influence.

Track is always one of the hardest-hit sports, as cost is often the tipping point for some multi-sport athletes and families that have already paid several hundred dollars per kid in fall and winter fees to just skip it.
Old 03-17-19, 06:41 AM
All American

mathking is on a distinguished road
I am not a fan of pay to play fees at all. But if the state is going to outlaw pay to play fees then the state should be providing funding. Otherwise itís just another unfunded mandate. Which has been the case more often than not over the past couple decades.
Old 03-17-19, 09:21 AM
All World

ccrunner609 is on a distinguished road
THe problem with public schools and sports is that people arent willing to think outside the box. Why dont districts do things like cut transportation for events that are more local? Most schools tens of thousands and up to $100,000 in transportation for away games.