Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > General Sports > General Board

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-18, 03:24 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Computer wifi question....

I have been having an issue which started a couple of days ago. When ever I bring my computer out of sleep or hibernation mode I lose the wifi. I have to unplug the router/modem and plug it back in to get it to work. I have Spectrum and it is their router/modem. Is the problem with the router/modem or with my computer? When I troubleshoot it states something like no default gateway or something to that point.

thanks for any help....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-05-18, 03:32 PM
PantherProud's Avatar
PantherProud PantherProud is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 11-08-01
Posts: 14,942
PantherProud
Iíve had the same issue on my laptop for months. Tho itís not every time.

I think it has to do with the network card going bad.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-18, 03:36 PM
eastside_purple's Avatar
eastside_purple eastside_purple is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 01-21-03
Posts: 69,405
eastside_purple is infamous around these parts
Sounds like user error
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-18, 03:37 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherProud View Post
Iíve had the same issue on my laptop for months. Tho itís not every time.

I think it has to do with the network card going bad.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
network card... would that be in my computer or on the router/modem..... ?

if it goes bad would it still work by hooking up an Ethernet cable?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-18, 03:38 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastside_purple View Post
Sounds like user error
probably some of you guys trying to keep me from posting on the REDS thread!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-18, 03:42 PM
EHS 2001 EHS 2001 is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 01-05-02
Location: The Pit Elder High School
Posts: 9,473
EHS 2001 is on a distinguished road
Do you have another device that uses the WiFi? Smart phone? Another computer? Connected device (Apple TV, Roku or Chromecast)? If so, does that still work when the laptop doesn't?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-18, 03:43 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by EHS 2001 View Post
Do you have another device that uses the WiFi? Smart phone? Another computer? Connected device (Apple TV, Roku or Chromecast)? If so, does that still work when the laptop doesn't?
Roku.... yes, it works.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-05-18, 03:44 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
My WLAN states everything is working properly when the wifi is not. Not sure if that means anything or not. I do not know much about this stuff....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-05-18, 04:30 PM
WinstonSmith WinstonSmith is online now
All World
 
Join Date: 09-11-16
Posts: 2,894
WinstonSmith has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Bring the computer to the Reds game with you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-05-18, 05:24 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Now the phone does not work and that goes through the modem.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-05-18, 06:50 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
You may have a modem or router problem...


Similar problem across several dif machines ...

Windows 8 wifi won't connect after waking from sleep.

read ALL questions/replys (3 pages)...


https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...8-7f8618b62b6d

:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-05-18, 07:49 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
I have Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-18, 07:50 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Since my phone no longer works either it has to be the modem/router....
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-05-18, 09:29 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
Is the modem~router a combined unit or a modem then separate wifi router?

Have you tried troubleshooting?


https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorial...eshooting.html


:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-05-18, 09:34 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiopup View Post
Is the modem~router a combined unit or a modem then separate wifi router?

Have you tried troubleshooting?


https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorial...eshooting.html


:>---

EGA
Combined...

The last 3 times I have brought my computer out of sleep it has worked. I have troubleshooted the phone issue with no prevail. Spectrum online help just sends me on an endless loop. I can't call them at this time because the phone does not work but when I do get a hold of them they will have to send someone out. I have had issues with all 3 (Cable, internet, phone) over the last few weeks....
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-05-18, 09:41 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
try to reset the modem...

https://www.spectrum.net/support/int...-redirect=true

:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-05-18, 09:44 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
also..

pick one... (or several)

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...fi+not+working

:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-05-18, 10:05 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
P.S. just yesterday, my neighbor lost his wifi connection due to a intermittent power loss...

reset the modem and all is well ---so far.

:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-05-18, 10:28 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiopup View Post
P.S. just yesterday, my neighbor lost his wifi connection due to a intermittent power loss...

reset the modem and all is well ---so far.

:>---

EGA
I've reset the modem more than 10 times. I've disconnected and reconnected everything. I have two phones, none of them work. I tried different phone jacks, still does not work. The phone was working while I was having WIFI issues, now it seems like the Wifi issue has fixed itself but now the phones don't work.... lol,

Maybe the strong storms from the other day has something to do with it or maybe some squirrels are gnawing at the line.... I don't know but I have given up on the night. If it still is not working when I get out of work tomorrow I will go over a friends house and call Spectrum out and have them send someone over.....

thanks for the suggestions...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-05-18, 11:15 PM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
Good luck... hoping for a good outcome...

let us know what the issue is/was.

:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-06-18, 07:02 AM
eastside_purple's Avatar
eastside_purple eastside_purple is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 01-21-03
Posts: 69,405
eastside_purple is infamous around these parts
Thoughts and prayers!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-06-18, 07:23 AM
PantherProud's Avatar
PantherProud PantherProud is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 11-08-01
Posts: 14,942
PantherProud
vamps, restarting my laptop has worked for me.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-06-18, 07:23 AM
PantherProud's Avatar
PantherProud PantherProud is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 11-08-01
Posts: 14,942
PantherProud
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamp2syd View Post
network card... would that be in my computer or on the router/modem..... ?

if it goes bad would it still work by hooking up an Ethernet cable?


the wireless network card in your computer.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-06-18, 08:02 AM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
Default gateway not available....
Check the driver.



"Check for driver updates"
log the info.

Windows should install or wizard will help you update if it detects anout of date driver.

Even if your computer says you have the most current driver, check anyway.


go to the Intel website to check the drivers for my wireless adapter.

compare the versions if the version you have is nt the most recent...
downloaded the driver to a flash drive and reinstall.


:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-06-18, 03:52 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherProud View Post
vamps, restarting my laptop has worked for me.
I tried that and did not change anything.

Strangely though it has only done it once in the last 6 times bringing it out of sleep. Maybe it will fix itself....
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-06-18, 03:56 PM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiopup View Post
Good luck... hoping for a good outcome...

let us know what the issue is/was.

:>---

EGA
Talked to Spectrum and they are sending someone out on Monday. They stated that the modem was having "dropping" issues but thought that my phone problem was with house wiring. They told me that if I hooked my phone up directly to the modem that the phone would work. I did that, the phone did not work.

As for the WIFI issue they asked me if my computer had just recently updated. I do remember it updating a few days back so maybe that has something to do with it.... I'm not going to try anything else and just wait until Monday when they come....
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-07-18, 09:38 AM
ohiopup ohiopup is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 05-07-01
Location: Grove City
Posts: 7,870
ohiopup is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by vamp2syd View Post
Talked to Spectrum and they are sending someone out on Monday. They stated that the modem was having "dropping" issues but thought that my phone problem was with house wiring. They told me that if I hooked my phone up directly to the modem that the phone would work. I did that, the phone did not work.

As for the WIFI issue they asked me if my computer had just recently updated. I do remember it updating a few days back so maybe that has something to do with it.... I'm not going to try anything else and just wait until Monday when they come....
You could do a system restore to a date before you started having the problem.

:>---

EGA
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-07-18, 09:44 AM
cabezadecaballo cabezadecaballo is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-06-12
Location: over here
Posts: 30,984
cabezadecaballo will become famous soon enough
Question for ohiopup -


Spectrum is touting increased speed as they raise rates for the first time after buying TWC. There have been no noticeable infrastructure improvements. Is there a chance that they are "robbing Peter to pay Paul" to satisfy complaints of speed or bandwidth by some users ?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-07-18, 10:11 AM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabezadecaballo View Post
Question for ohiopup -


Spectrum is touting increased speed as they raise rates for the first time after buying TWC. There have been no noticeable infrastructure improvements. Is there a chance that they are "robbing Peter to pay Paul" to satisfy complaints of speed or bandwidth by some users ?
They increased my speed "for free" to 100 mbs but I have seen no difference what so ever from the increase speed.... but I did see a notice in my bill that it went up about $6.00 ....
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-07-18, 10:15 AM
vamp2syd vamp2syd is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-24-02
Location: HH Wayne 35 Moeller 17
Posts: 35,355
vamp2syd will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiopup View Post
You could do a system restore to a date before you started having the problem.

:>---

EGA
My troubleshooting recommended me to do that so I did and while it was restoring. While it was doing that my wifi kicked on. When it was done restoring for some reason the automatic restore restored to a date that was after the problem... this morning once again no wifi. I just decided to hook up an Ethernet and I am good to go. I will wait until after the show up before doing anything else. Even though they said the problem I am having with the wifi has nothing to do with the modem I will still wait and see as they did state something was wrong with it. Likely, they will hook up a different Modem/router..... and then I will see what happens. In the meantime it does not bug me to have it hooked up by the Ethernet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Competitive Balance Question re:Berlin. aztecjim Football 3 02-05-18 04:44 PM
A Small-sample Critique of the OHSAA Computer GABN Football 20 12-04-17 05:04 PM
OHSAA Releases Weekly Football Computer Ratings (10/3) Yappi Football 0 10-03-17 02:56 PM
OHSAA Releases Weekly Football Computer Ratings (9/26) Yappi Football 0 09-26-17 09:18 PM
Question about seeding? MUOhio Baseball 9 07-03-17 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz