Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Soccer

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 04-25-17, 11:19 PM
OhioBobcatFan06 OhioBobcatFan06 is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 07-06-05
Location: ohio bobcats hoops
Posts: 17,858
OhioBobcatFan06 is on a distinguished road
At the higher levels of the game, I'd imagine we see a lot more challenges in the box from smarter players knowing they only get a yellow and not a red.

...

Regarding the discussion above about losing hs referees, more frustrating for me than the pay with arbiter is all the bureaucracy involved in re-certification. I'm not particularly interested in attending local OHSAA meetings for rules on games that won't even count towards my advancement to higher USSF grades.

I've noticed more and more "non-soccer" guys refereeing local youth games with me lately. One said he started with football, then wrestling, finally soccer. Had another guy with me in the next game who was basketball then soccer. The good thing about these types of referees is they almost always have strong on-field demeanor/leadership and can keep control of the game. The downside with them is their positioning usually is not as good. The very best referees are the guys who can anticipate direction of play so they are always in position to make the right call. ]That's something that comes with an understanding of the game rather than an understanding of the rulebook. Along with that, you have to be in shape to run when you need to get into position to make the call.
I think these multi-sport OHSAA referees are going to become more and more of the norm as the OHSAA keeps making it more difficult for younger referees to certify and lowering the incentives of certifying.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #92  
Old 04-26-17, 10:18 PM
bucksman bucksman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-10-01
Location: Having fun somewhere :-)
Posts: 30,546
bucksman will become famous soon enough
OBF06,

If you're talking about the DOGSO change (removal of penalty/red, instead only yellow for certain ones in the box), it should be noted that if the challenge fits the "serious foul play" bucket, it's still a send off per the LOTG revision. It's also still a send off for a hold, push, or pull; along with for failure to play the ball, or no chance to play the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 05-03-17, 10:19 PM
OhioBobcatFan06 OhioBobcatFan06 is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 07-06-05
Location: ohio bobcats hoops
Posts: 17,858
OhioBobcatFan06 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucksman View Post
OBF06,

If you're talking about the DOGSO change (removal of penalty/red, instead only yellow for certain ones in the box), it should be noted that if the challenge fits the "serious foul play" bucket, it's still a send off per the LOTG revision. It's also still a send off for a hold, push, or pull; along with for failure to play the ball, or no chance to play the ball.
That's exactly what I'm talking about. Your clairification was a very good explanation for those who are not familiar. What I was meaning more specifically, I would expect more aggressive slide tackles where defenders go for the ball. Yeah, you're still risking a penalty but avoiding a red in that situation is huge. It depends on the situation of the game, but more often than not I'd rather slide a guy just inside the edge of the box and risk a penalty rather than slide a guy outside the box and risk a direct free kick and a send off.

I understand the rational behind the change, I just think this rule has more consequences for play than most rule changes do.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 05-03-17, 10:44 PM
bucksman bucksman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-10-01
Location: Having fun somewhere :-)
Posts: 30,546
bucksman will become famous soon enough
OBF06,

I do not THINK the revised DOGSO interpretation was put into the high school rule book for 2017-18. We'll find out for when the materials come out from Columbus. Certainly will make for an interesting scholastic season if that is the case.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 05-08-17, 11:42 AM
BacknBlack BacknBlack is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 10-22-09
Location: Van down by the river
Posts: 116
BacknBlack is on a distinguished road
PK do over

From a State Cup game this weekend. Team was awarded a PK. Ref gave instructions to goalie, all non shooters and handed the ball to the shooter and stepped out of the 6 yrd. box. Shooter placed ball and struck the kick. Goalie cleanly saved the kick, moving to the right and catching the shot. Ref waived off the try and instructed the shooter to retake the kick. Shooter retook the kick, shooting to the left, and scored. After the game ref stated that the re-kick was awarded because he had not yet blown the whistle to direct the shooter to take the original kick? Was this the correct application of the rules?
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 05-09-17, 03:54 PM
Upper 90 Upper 90 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 07-21-09
Posts: 264
Upper 90 is on a distinguished road
The rules clearly state the ref must signal before the PK can be taken. In the refs eyes he did not signal the penalty taker for the PK thus do over, the play never happened regardless of outcome. What a bad dilemma to get into, the players have to know you go on my whistle, period. The tables could have been turned in that he could have made the PK then had to do it all over again.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 05-10-17, 08:27 AM
OhioBobcatFan06 OhioBobcatFan06 is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 07-06-05
Location: ohio bobcats hoops
Posts: 17,858
OhioBobcatFan06 is on a distinguished road
Agree, right call but terrible situation to be in. I don't recall having a player go before my whistle on a PK. Happens to me all the time on direct kicks despite always reminding them "wait for my whistle." Gotta get into proper position.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 05-10-17, 08:36 AM
winbypin winbypin is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-12-06
Posts: 7,226
winbypin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upper 90 View Post
The rules clearly state the ref must signal before the PK can be taken. In the refs eyes he did not signal the penalty taker for the PK thus do over, the play never happened regardless of outcome. What a bad dilemma to get into, the players have to know you go on my whistle, period. The tables could have been turned in that he could have made the PK then had to do it all over again.
That happened to a player on my son's team. Placed the ball, kicked it, and scored. Only to have the ref wave it off because he didn't blow his whistle. Of course the keeper made the save on the second try.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 05-10-17, 09:25 AM
BacknBlack BacknBlack is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 10-22-09
Location: Van down by the river
Posts: 116
BacknBlack is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the feedback. Could the players taking the kick be carded for not waiting for the direction of the official? With no repercussions to the player taking the kick I may instruct all my strikers to take a kick early (before the whistle) to get in the goalies head. The % of converted kicks is higher than missed attempts thus this is a huge advantage to the shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 05-10-17, 11:16 AM
coolguy coolguy is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 04-30-02
Posts: 3,365
coolguy is on a distinguished road
Interesting situation because "delaying the restart" is a cautionable offense and the safest answer for you is if this is how the referee interprets what he sees from the PK shooter.

One would like to think that the keeper knows he/she is waiting to hear the whistle and may not react to a premature shot on goal.

The law missing from the LOTG that referees should acknowledge is common sense. Be clear with your instructions and if a premature shot is taken (even if perceived as deliberate), use your voice rather than an instant card to tell the shooter that won't be tolerated again by anyone.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 05-10-17, 11:58 AM
Philos_Finest Philos_Finest is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 11-12-10
Posts: 61
Philos_Finest is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BacknBlack View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Could the players taking the kick be carded for not waiting for the direction of the official? With no repercussions to the player taking the kick I may instruct all my strikers to take a kick early (before the whistle) to get in the goalies head. The % of converted kicks is higher than missed attempts thus this is a huge advantage to the shooter.
I could be wrong but I think the laws state that it has to happen multiple times to warrant a card.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 05-10-17, 12:06 PM
winbypin winbypin is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-12-06
Posts: 7,226
winbypin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BacknBlack View Post
Thanks for the feedback. Could the players taking the kick be carded for not waiting for the direction of the official? With no repercussions to the player taking the kick I may instruct all my strikers to take a kick early (before the whistle) to get in the goalies head. The % of converted kicks is higher than missed attempts thus this is a huge advantage to the shooter.
The first thing I thought of when I read this response was that would be a bush league move on your part as a coach.

The second thing I thought of is the game that important to you to teach a stunt like that?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 05-10-17, 12:29 PM
BacknBlack BacknBlack is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 10-22-09
Location: Van down by the river
Posts: 116
BacknBlack is on a distinguished road
I agree this would be "bush league" and considered a "stunt". The point I'm making is that the law/rules have a huge hole that could be exploited if one had the character(or lack thereof) to do so. Thanks for your concern, however not my style.

Last edited by BacknBlack; 05-10-17 at 12:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 05-10-17, 01:00 PM
winbypin winbypin is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-12-06
Posts: 7,226
winbypin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BacknBlack View Post
I agree this would be "bush league" and considered a "stunt". The point I'm making is that the law/rules have a huge hole that could be exploited if one had the character(or lack thereof) to do so. Thanks for your concern, however not my style.
Whew. OK. I thought you were going to be "one of those guys" that would take advantage of this huge hole. I agree, some people with the wrong character, could teach and do this. I can think of one in my local area for sure that would stoop to something like this.

Thankfully, PK's happen somewhat infrequently in any given game limiting someone the opportunity to do this. PK's are already an intense moment in a game. Having to redo one for whatever reason only makes it worse.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 06-18-17, 07:59 PM
sig4969 sig4969 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 05-26-10
Posts: 731
sig4969 is on a distinguished road
FC Cin game this Sat

Did you see FC Cin this Sat.

Was the first goal offside ?

If so how bad did the lineman blow it ????
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 06-19-17, 03:18 AM
sportsfanofyear sportsfanofyear is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 11-02-12
Posts: 231
sportsfanofyear is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sig4969 View Post
Did you see FC Cin this Sat.

Was the first goal offside ?

If so how bad did the lineman blow it ????
I assume you are asking about the Charleston goal? If it is offside, you cannot conclusively decide from the highlight one way or the other but I am not overly impressed that the Charleston player is off. Therefore, I don't believe the lineman blew anything.

http://www.uslsoccer.com/fccincinnat...battery-905613
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 06-19-17, 01:43 PM
sig4969 sig4969 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 05-26-10
Posts: 731
sig4969 is on a distinguished road
No, FC cin first goal.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 06-25-17, 08:32 AM
sig4969 sig4969 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 05-26-10
Posts: 731
sig4969 is on a distinguished road
FC games

FC cincinnati second Goal ...


I am talking about the pass from player 10 to player 20
not player 20 pass to player 11
Did the Lineman see this pass ?
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 07-24-17, 09:26 AM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is online now
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Location: Rayen Stadium
Posts: 9,129
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
brought this up in a ref class the other day.... the 6 second rule. I realize this is probably the least called rule.

Does it get called?

Have you called it?

What was the situation that made you call it?
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 09-07-17, 12:06 PM
Andy27 Andy27 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 08-28-16
Posts: 678
Andy27 is on a distinguished road
Since ask the ref isn't in the girls forum I'll ask here:

Last night in the Hoban/Walsh game as play was going on a Hoban girl was down back by the goal. Ref finally noticed it and stopped play/the clock as Hoban kicked the ball.

Once she was off the field, he restarted it as a free kick for Walsh where the last kick had taken place. Was this the correct way to do it? I thought it was supposed to be a drop ball.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 09-07-17, 12:52 PM
sru sru is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 10-22-13
Posts: 7
sru is on a distinguished road
Walsh/Hoban

Correct restart should of been a indirect free kick for the team that had clear an obvious procession. That is NFHS rule.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 09-07-17, 01:08 PM
soref soref is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-14-06
Posts: 371
soref is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sru View Post
Correct restart should of been a indirect free kick for the team that had clear an obvious procession. That is NFHS rule.
Correct, and if there is no clear possession then it would be a drop ball.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 09-08-17, 09:33 AM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is online now
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Location: Rayen Stadium
Posts: 9,129
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
^^^nailed it folks
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 09-08-17, 12:21 PM
Andy27 Andy27 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 08-28-16
Posts: 678
Andy27 is on a distinguished road
Ok thanks. Ball had just been kicked and was in the air when he realized she was down and stopped the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 09-15-17, 11:25 AM
Chrisham Chrisham is offline
Junior Varsity
 
Join Date: 09-15-17
Posts: 30
Chrisham is on a distinguished road
Good idea, an ask the ref

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 09-18-17, 10:29 AM
MJ_SoccerRef MJ_SoccerRef is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 11-08-11
Posts: 343
MJ_SoccerRef is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastYoungstown View Post
brought this up in a ref class the other day.... the 6 second rule. I realize this is probably the least called rule.

Does it get called?

Have you called it?

What was the situation that made you call it?
Typically when the Keeper is cutting it VERY close, I (and I think many others) will call out “Play it, Keep!!”. I will then alert their Captain that the Keeper is cutting the 6 second Rule VERY close & bring it to their Keeper’s attention (if I d/n have that opportunity). I might also alert that player’s HC at the half, if they’ve established a pattern, etc. as well. Personally, I have never called that, nor seen it called by a partner in any game I’ve worked.......in large part because after that initial ‘heads up’, the Keeper adjusts their play......which is 'the point’.


Same thing with Keepers punting or throwing the ball very close to the 18....unless it is a blatant / obvious case of them handling clearly outside the PA......
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 09-23-17, 07:38 PM
Andy27 Andy27 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 08-28-16
Posts: 678
Andy27 is on a distinguished road
This just happened in the Cleveland State/Oakland Women's game: csu forward has a breakaway, Oakland defender catches up to her inside the box and knocks her down before she can shoot.

CR awards a pk and red card to the defender. PK is taken and is good. Then the CR went over to the fourth official and it was changed to a yellow.

Isn't a denied shot on goal opportunity in the box an automatic red?

That's how it was explained to me last fall when the Western Michigan goalie tried to tackle the Kent State forward and was given a red.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 09-23-17, 11:08 PM
bucksman bucksman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-10-01
Location: Having fun somewhere :-)
Posts: 30,546
bucksman will become famous soon enough
Not sure if college implemented the FIFA rule change on DOGSO in the penalty area or not. If college did adopt the change, DOGSO in the penalty area is a YELLOW unless it meets one of the exceptions - the foul was a red card foul anyway, there was no attempt to play the ball, it was a push/hold/pull.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 09-24-17, 01:28 AM
Andy27 Andy27 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 08-28-16
Posts: 678
Andy27 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucksman View Post
Not sure if college implemented the FIFA rule change on DOGSO in the penalty area or not. If college did adopt the change, DOGSO in the penalty area is a YELLOW unless it meets one of the exceptions - the foul was a red card foul anyway, there was no attempt to play the ball, it was a push/hold/pull.
Girl came up from behind and pushed her in the back while not attempting to play the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 09-24-17, 09:32 PM
sportsfanofyear sportsfanofyear is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 11-02-12
Posts: 231
sportsfanofyear is on a distinguished road
Was just told this story of the Marshall-Southern Mississippi women's college soccer game. You need to know college soccer substitution rules to answer this one. Southern Mississippi player #20 Zuazua started the 2nd half. Subbed out at 61:20 and returned at 69:22. She then subbed out again at 82:36. She subbed back in again (3rd time) at 85:37 and at 87:54 assisted on the tying goal for Southern Mississippi.

The Marshall coaches immediately challenged the goal as it was assisted by an "illegal" player. The 4th official was useless because he should have never allowed her on the field to begin with. The center referee showed #20 a yellow card and removed her from the field and let the goal stand and a kickoff by Marshall happened next.

Forgetting the obvious that nobody should have paid the 4th official, did the center referee do the correct thing?

(I have no idea if the game was played under protest or any other consequences but Marshall did score the winner in OT).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz