Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Basketball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #451  
Old 05-22-17, 12:41 PM
tccsaintsbasketball tccsaintsbasketball is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 01-23-12
Posts: 5
tccsaintsbasketball is on a distinguished road
Here is a scenario that we have been strategizing about lately.
End of the game situation and Team A is ahead by 3 points, Team B has the ball out of bounds. 5 seconds remain. Team A elects to foul as soon as Team B inbounds the ball. Shooter from Team B makes the first free throw. Team B wants to miss the second free throw in order to get a stick back and tie the game. Player from Team A steps in and gets a lane violation. Team B must re-shoot the second shot. Team A continues to violate. What is the end game? Does Team B shoot until they make it, since Team A continues to violate? This is a strategy for Team A because now Team B has no chance for an offensive rebound to tie the game or take the lead.

I have asked several officials and have received different responses. Some have said that by the letter of the rule, teams would be there until Team A no longer violates or until Team B makes a free throw. I had another official say he would give an unsportsmanlike warning, followed by a technical foul for unsportsmanlike behavior for intentionally violating. But is intentionally missing a free throw unsportsmanlike as well? Where is the line drawn? How do you handle this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #452  
Old 05-23-17, 07:14 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,964
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by tccsaintsbasketball View Post
Here is a scenario that we have been strategizing about lately.
End of the game situation and Team A is ahead by 3 points, Team B has the ball out of bounds. 5 seconds remain. Team A elects to foul as soon as Team B inbounds the ball. Shooter from Team B makes the first free throw. Team B wants to miss the second free throw in order to get a stick back and tie the game. Player from Team A steps in and gets a lane violation. Team B must re-shoot the second shot. Team A continues to violate. What is the end game? Does Team B shoot until they make it, since Team A continues to violate? This is a strategy for Team A because now Team B has no chance for an offensive rebound to tie the game or take the lead.

I have asked several officials and have received different responses. Some have said that by the letter of the rule, teams would be there until Team A no longer violates or until Team B makes a free throw. I had another official say he would give an unsportsmanlike warning, followed by a technical foul for unsportsmanlike behavior for intentionally violating. But is intentionally missing a free throw unsportsmanlike as well? Where is the line drawn? How do you handle this situation?
Committing repeated violations like these are clearly addressed in the NFHS Basketball Case Book as follows.... (bolded the part that applies here)

"Non-contact, away from the ball, illegal defensive violations (i.e. excessively swinging the elbows, leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason) specifically designed to stop the clock near the end of a period or take away a clear advantageous position by the offense should be temporarily ignored. The defensive team should not benefit from the tactic. If time is not a factor, the defense should be penalized with the violation or a technical foul for unsporting behavior. (10-1-8)"

In other words, because the defensive team is attempting to remove the offense's advantage by repeating the violation, and time is a factor, then the violation should be ignored.

If this happened when time wasn't a factor, then a technical foul should be assessed.

As far as a team intentionally missing FT's.... Missing a FT attempt is does not violate any rule, hence you have nothing but a missed shot.

Last edited by AllSports12; 05-24-17 at 06:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #453  
Old 11-15-17, 08:06 AM
DPaul DPaul is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 11-13-17
Posts: 4
DPaul is on a distinguished road
Saw a Fairless girls coach get on a ref the other night.

Scenario; A1 while on offense drives B1 4ft or so while posting up. Ref calls offensive foul and Fairless coach gets upset. Ref says she can't drive or displace the defender. Fairless coach yells "She is posting up, she isn't allowed to post up?" and laughs at ref. Ref says "not by moving the defender!"

Fairless coach was a lil upset by this.

What is the call? Ref made a statement like "size doesn't mean she gets to push through because of here size coach" or close as I was a lil bit away.

What is right call?
Reply With Quote
  #454  
Old 11-15-17, 10:06 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 121
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DPaul View Post
Saw a Fairless girls coach get on a ref the other night.

Scenario; A1 while on offense drives B1 4ft or so while posting up. Ref calls offensive foul and Fairless coach gets upset. Ref says she can't drive or displace the defender. Fairless coach yells "She is posting up, she isn't allowed to post up?" and laughs at ref. Ref says "not by moving the defender!"

Fairless coach was a lil upset by this.

What is the call? Ref made a statement like "size doesn't mean she gets to push through because of here size coach" or close as I was a lil bit away.

What is right call?
As with 75% of the decisions basketball officials make, this is a judgment call, and there's no way to know for certain how good/bad the call was absent any video.

That being said, a lot of people think that if the defender doesn't fall to the ground then there can't be a foul. The rule does not require that the defender be knocked down. If the official rules that the ball handler made contact that displaced an otherwise legal defender, that is a foul. The offensive player is responsible for contact with a legal defender until (s)he beats (gets head/shoulders past) the defender. All players are entitled to a spot on the floor provided they get there first without the help of illegal contact.
Reply With Quote
  #455  
Old 11-17-17, 05:33 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,964
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Boxing out is holding one's legally obtained position on the floor.

Displacing an opponent is always illegal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz