Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Baseball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #481  
Old 10-10-17, 11:46 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,964
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peak View Post
Isn't the knee moving up a "preliminary" movement, as the pitcher could go to a base (1B for lefties, 3B for righties) instead of proceeding to the pitch? The pitcher's movement towards home would be the "pitching motion". If I use the definition you have above, then he could never throw to a base, due to any movement of the pitcher's front leg in general would indicates a pitching movement.

Not trying to nitpick, but trying to understand this situation. We faced it a few times and I'd like to know it's legality under the rules, one way or another.

Devil's advocate on the rules is this one from MLB Rules 5.07 (d):
"At any time during the pitcher’s preliminary movements and until his natural pitching motion commits him to the pitch, he may throw to any base provided he steps directly toward such base before making the throw."

When does preliminary movement end and natural pitching motion begin? Just because a knee is raised, the pitcher could still go to a base or begin his pitch. Does the preliminary movement end once the pitcher moves towards home? When his foot in the air either breaks beyond the rubber (i.e. Cueto)? Nothing I've seen in the rules stipulate the end of one and the beginning of the other - in regards to raising a knee. Every Ump I have spoke with has different views.
Let's keep it simple here....

From the windup, once he makes a movement that commits him to pitch, he must do so without interruption.
From the set, once he makes a movement that requires him to pitch or throw to a base, he must do so without interruption.

He he fails to meet that criteria, it's illegal. It's not a philosophy, it's not an opinion, it's not what some guys think..... it's the rule.

Anything else is just overthinking this.

Last edited by AllSports12; 10-10-17 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #482  
Old 10-24-17, 04:16 PM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 47,021
Yappi will become famous soon enough
Runner on 1st, batter hits the ball to left center. Runner on rounds second and heads to 3rd.

Throw from left center to 3rd base is a little offline and forces the 3rd baseman to move about 3 feet away from the bag into the runners baseline. Ball gets there about 3 steps before the runner gets there but short hops the 3rd baseman who smothers the ball (loose ball on the ground). Runner slides feet first towards 3rd base but is stopped short of the bag due to the collision with the 3rd baseman on the ground. Runner gets up on their knees and reaches for 3rd base and is tagged out by the 3rd baseman who located and picked up the ball just before the runner could touch the bag.

Is this obstruction?

Just for clarity, the smothered ball and slide were not simultaneous. The ball was mishandled first and the slide did not dislodge or impede the attempted catch.
Reply With Quote
  #483  
Old 10-24-17, 04:58 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,964
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
Runner on 1st, batter hits the ball to left center. Runner on rounds second and heads to 3rd.

Throw from left center to 3rd base is a little offline and forces the 3rd baseman to move about 3 feet away from the bag into the runners baseline. Ball gets there about 3 steps before the runner gets there but short hops the 3rd baseman who smothers the ball (loose ball on the ground). Runner slides feet first towards 3rd base but is stopped short of the bag due to the collision with the 3rd baseman on the ground. Runner gets up on their knees and reaches for 3rd base and is tagged out by the 3rd baseman who located and picked up the ball just before the runner could touch the bag.

Is this obstruction?

Just for clarity, the smothered ball and slide were not simultaneous. The ball was mishandled first and the slide did not dislodge or impede the attempted catch.
Obstruction

Smothering the ball does not qualify as possession. Blocking access to the base without possession of the ball is the basis for this ruling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz