Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Football

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1681  
Old 11-18-18, 08:55 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb9 View Post
A punt is a scrimmage kick. It can be kick catch interference but only if there's a receiver that is in position to catch the ball. AS12 can give you the official wording.

K may catch, touch, muff or bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the neutral zone if no player of R is in position to catch the ball.

K can never touch, muff, or bat a free kick in flight inside an area in or beyond the neutral zone to the receiver's goal line unless K is blocked into the ball (or receiver if in the area) or when warding off a blocker.
Reply With Quote
  #1682  
Old 11-19-18, 12:13 AM
Zunardo Zunardo is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 03-03-10
Posts: 1,970
Zunardo is on a distinguished road
Who determines the number of officials for the playoffs for weeks 11 thru 13?

A week ago we hosted a regional semi-final that used 6 officials. Yesterday we hosted a regional final that used 5 officials. Seemed kind of strange to use 6, then 5, instead of the other way around.
Reply With Quote
  #1683  
Old 11-19-18, 06:41 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zunardo View Post
Who determines the number of officials for the playoffs for weeks 11 thru 13?

A week ago we hosted a regional semi-final that used 6 officials. Yesterday we hosted a regional final that used 5 officials. Seemed kind of strange to use 6, then 5, instead of the other way around.
The football regulations call for 20 crews that have 6 officials. Those crews are assigned based on rankings/ratings and other criteria ultimately determined by the OHSAA
Reply With Quote
  #1684  
Old 11-19-18, 09:53 AM
TigerTown15 TigerTown15 is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 10-28-18
Posts: 82
TigerTown15 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
It is always Kick Catch Interference if a player from K touches or possesses a free kick that has not been grounded.
Thank you. Crowd was pretty upset and I thought to ask here before forming an opinion. Sounds like the crew made the correct call.
Reply With Quote
  #1685  
Old 11-19-18, 10:17 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerTown15 View Post
Thank you. Crowd was pretty upset and I thought to ask here before forming an opinion. Sounds like the crew made the correct call.
You're welcome. This is why Yappi set these forums up.

As presented, Kick Catch Interference was the correct call.
Reply With Quote
  #1686  
Old 11-19-18, 10:30 AM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerTown15 View Post
Intentional short kick on the kickoff. Ball goes high in the air and is recovered by the kicking team 20yds down field. The return team doesn't have a player near the ball, but a flag is thrown for interference. There was no obvious fair catch sign made. Just curious on the explanation.
To add...

Do you remember the national championship game a few years ago where Saban called an onside kick and it changed the course of the game?

That would not be legal in HS under the rule AS12 cited.
Reply With Quote
  #1687  
Old 11-19-18, 10:41 AM
DahBeast DahBeast is online now
All District
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Posts: 172
DahBeast is on a distinguished road
There was a 15yd penalty issued on the kickoff.
The kicking team kicks the ball out of bounds, so does the return team get the ball from the 35 or the 20 because of the 15yd infraction?
Reply With Quote
  #1688  
Old 11-19-18, 11:02 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DahBeast View Post
There was a 15yd penalty issued on the kickoff.
The kicking team kicks the ball out of bounds, so does the return team get the ball from the 35 or the 20 because of the 15yd infraction?
Need some more information....

Who committed the foul that resulted in a 15yd penalty and when did it happen?
Reply With Quote
  #1689  
Old 11-19-18, 11:12 AM
DahBeast DahBeast is online now
All District
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Posts: 172
DahBeast is on a distinguished road
The return team, which was the defenders who caused the penalty on the extra point, got penalized 15yds on the ensuing kick off.
Reply With Quote
  #1690  
Old 11-19-18, 11:40 AM
RB22 RB22 is offline
Junior Varsity
 
Join Date: 11-14-17
Posts: 34
RB22 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DahBeast View Post
The return team, which was the defenders who caused the penalty on the extra point, got penalized 15yds on the ensuing kick off.


The ball will be placed 25 yards in advance of the kickoff spot. So if the KO was from the 45yd line the ball will be placed at the 20yl or 5 yard penalty and re-kick. Depending on where it went out of bounds there could also be a five yard penalty enforced from the OOB spot.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #1691  
Old 11-19-18, 12:24 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DahBeast View Post
The return team, which was the defenders who caused the penalty on the extra point, got penalized 15yds on the ensuing kick off.
The Receiving Team will be given 4 options.....

- Be awarded the ball at a spot 25yds from the kicking line.
- Be awarded the ball at a spot 5 yards in advance on the spot where it went out of bounds untouched.
- Assess a 5yd penalty to the kicking team and re-kick the ball.
- Decline the penalty and be awarded the ball out of bounds at the sport where it went out untouched.

The order of which these options are presented should be based upon what the most advantageous outcome will be for the offended team to the least advantageous.
Reply With Quote
  #1692  
Old 11-20-18, 02:04 PM
RoadMan RoadMan is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 11-15-11
Posts: 2
RoadMan is on a distinguished road
Free Kick

Watched the Pick v Davidson game last weekend, last two minutes onside kick - sure looked like the kicking team was blocking the receiving team prior to the ball going 10 yards - isn't that a NFHS rule these days?
Reply With Quote
  #1693  
Old 11-20-18, 02:57 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadMan View Post
Watched the Pick v Davidson game last weekend, last two minutes onside kick - sure looked like the kicking team was blocking the receiving team prior to the ball going 10 yards - isn't that a NFHS rule these days?


No member of the kicking team shall initiate contact to (block) an opponent on a free kick until:

a. The legal kick has traveled 10 yards;

b. The kicking team is eligible to recover a free-kicked ball; or

c. The receiving team initiates a block within the neutral zone.

The penalty for violation of this rule (if accepted) is a 10yd assessment from the previous spot and a replay of the down
Reply With Quote
  #1694  
Old 11-21-18, 11:08 PM
ThompsonUSSSA ThompsonUSSSA is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 11-08-17
Posts: 2
ThompsonUSSSA is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zunardo View Post
Who determines the number of officials for the playoffs for weeks 11 thru 13?

A week ago we hosted a regional semi-final that used 6 officials. Yesterday we hosted a regional final that used 5 officials. Seemed kind of strange to use 6, then 5, instead of the other way around.
Once a crew is assigned for post season, they will typically work together as a crew through however many games their 'Crew #' was assigned for the post-season.
So if in the 1st round you had a crew of 6, that crew would be working (this years playoffs) a minimum of 3 games for post-season.
You most likely seen a crew in the earlier round that will be working deeper in the playoffs, then the crew you had the following week...

This year OHSAA extended out the number of playoff crews working 6 man mechanics to 20 crews. I believe they would like to continue to increase that number, but # of officials, and # of officials who work and understand the 6 man mechanics is still limited.
During regular season, some leagues and 'highlight' games are utilizing 6 man crews.

There is a total of 112 crews that work the playoffs.
Crews 57-112 work a 1st round game only
Crews 29-56 work 2 rounds
Crews 15-28 work 3 rounds (crew #'s 15-20 have 6 officials)
Crews 8-14 work 4 rounds (State Semi-finals - all have 6 officials)
Crews 1-7 are State Final crews (all 6 man crews)
Reply With Quote
  #1695  
Old 11-22-18, 09:27 AM
Zunardo Zunardo is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 03-03-10
Posts: 1,970
Zunardo is on a distinguished road
Interesting stuff! Thanks, ThompsonUSSSA and Allsports12, for the explanations.
Reply With Quote
  #1696  
Old 11-26-18, 11:47 AM
El Indio El Indio is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 06-04-09
Posts: 2,144
El Indio is on a distinguished road
Question: Can a flag be thrown for Defensive Holding and the offense later in the play be called for Offensive pass interference? The Game had a situation like that but it was only called on the defense.

The OSU guy did hold him but when the ball got there the WR held his arm so he couldn't catch it.
Reply With Quote
  #1697  
Old 11-26-18, 01:42 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Indio View Post
Question: Can a flag be thrown for Defensive Holding and the offense later in the play be called for Offensive pass interference? The Game had a situation like that but it was only called on the defense.

The OSU guy did hold him but when the ball got there the WR held his arm so he couldn't catch it.
Absolutely !

When this occurs you have offsetting penalties and a replay of the down.
Reply With Quote
  #1698  
Old 11-26-18, 03:11 PM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Location: North Side
Posts: 9,871
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
What actually is involved in calling a 'pick' play by the offense as offensive interference?

More and more this rule has vanished at almost every level of football
Reply With Quote
  #1699  
Old 11-26-18, 07:25 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by EastYoungstown View Post
What actually is involved in calling a 'pick' play by the offense as offensive interference?

More and more this rule has vanished at almost every level of football
We have to determine whether or not the offensive player's movement interfered or impeded the defender's ability to move towards, bat, or catch a legal forward pass thrown beyond the line of scrimmage.

Easier to describe than to judge while the play is live.....
Reply With Quote
  #1700  
Old 11-27-18, 09:43 PM
TriangleMan TriangleMan is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 11-23-15
Location: Stark County
Posts: 528
TriangleMan is on a distinguished road
When OSU botched the kickoff catch against TTUN, if an OSU player had batted the ball out of bounds what would have been the penalty (if any) and what would it have been under NFHS rules?
Reply With Quote
  #1701  
Old 11-28-18, 11:22 AM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriangleMan View Post
When OSU botched the kickoff catch against TTUN, if an OSU player had batted the ball out of bounds what would have been the penalty (if any) and what would it have been under NFHS rules?
Batting by definition is an intentional act.

If this occurred, it would be a foul for illegal batting under NFHS rules.

K could accept the result of the play (R's ball where it was batted out of bounds) or accept a 15-yard penalty and re-kick.
Reply With Quote
  #1702  
Old 11-30-18, 08:20 AM
Devilone Devilone is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 03-10-11
Location: Howland, OH
Posts: 345
Devilone is on a distinguished road
What is the rule on a Qb throwing a pass beyond the line of scrimmage? Does his whole body have to be passed the line?
Reply With Quote
  #1703  
Old 11-30-18, 10:37 AM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilone View Post
What is the rule on a Qb throwing a pass beyond the line of scrimmage? Does his whole body have to be passed the line?
Both feet must be in or behind the neutral zone when the ball is released. If one or both feet are beyond, it would be a foul.

Yes, the college rule is different.
Reply With Quote
  #1704  
Old 11-30-18, 05:51 PM
afwpatfire afwpatfire is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 11-11-09
Posts: 5,170
afwpatfire is on a distinguished road
I’m under the impression that hurdling a defender as a runner is illegal in high school football.

I’ve seen it happen multiple times, including today’s Division III title game, and never called.

Is it illegal?

If it is illegal, why is it never or rarely flagged? Lack of knowledge? Not wanting to toss the flag on what is usually a “WOW” play?
Reply With Quote
  #1705  
Old 11-30-18, 09:47 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by afwpatfire View Post
I’m under the impression that hurdling a defender as a runner is illegal in high school football.

I’ve seen it happen multiple times, including today’s Division III title game, and never called.

Is it illegal?

If it is illegal, why is it never or rarely flagged? Lack of knowledge? Not wanting to toss the flag on what is usually a “WOW” play?
“Hurdling is an attempt by a player to jump (hurdle) with one or both feet or knees foremost over an opponent who is contacting the ground with no part of his body except one or both feet.”

This is the NFHS definition of hurdling, and it is a foul. If it’s not being called I can guarantee you it’s not because the officials don’t want to negate an exciting play. Officials that officiate like that won’t be around very long.
Reply With Quote
  #1706  
Old 11-30-18, 10:07 PM
USA70PP USA70PP is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 07-26-16
Location: West of Marion, Ohio
Posts: 953
USA70PP is an unknown quantity at this point
Most of what we refer to as "hurdling" involves the defender having a knee or hand or something on the ground other than just his feet.
Reply With Quote
  #1707  
Old 12-03-18, 08:53 AM
Zunardo Zunardo is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 03-03-10
Posts: 1,970
Zunardo is on a distinguished road
Watching the replay of the OSU-Northwestern game where the Northwestern receiver fumbled after being stripped, and the fumble was overturned - I believe the replay official ruled the receiver's shin above the ankle was down before he lost the ball, even though his knee never touched the ground.

Is this the same for NFHS? For years I've had the idea that ground contact had to be with the knee joint on up (or the elbow joint on up) that determined if a runner was down, but it wouldn't be the first time my bubble's been busted. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #1708  
Old 12-03-18, 09:03 AM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zunardo View Post
Watching the replay of the OSU-Northwestern game where the Northwestern receiver fumbled after being stripped, and the fumble was overturned - I believe the replay official ruled the receiver's shin above the ankle was down before he lost the ball, even though his knee never touched the ground.

Is this the same for NFHS? For years I've had the idea that ground contact had to be with the knee joint on up (or the elbow joint on up) that determined if a runner was down, but it wouldn't be the first time my bubble's been busted. Thanks in advance.
Yes. The ball is dead when any part of the runner's body other than the hand or foot touches the ground.

However, in the case you mention, it's very likely that the only way to catch the shin being down first is with instant replay. So in a high school game the ruling on the field likely would have been the same, and obviously wouldn't be overturned since we don't have replay.
Reply With Quote
  #1709  
Old 12-03-18, 05:20 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,488
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
A friendly reminder to fans and officials posting on this thread......

Fans >> This is for serious questions pertaining to rules and mechanics only. If you want to complain about a specific call in a game, then open a separate thread and have at it.

Officials >> I have three rules about officials posting responses to questions...

1) They must be correct
2) There will be no arguing with a fan on here. If you are going to post, act as if you are on the field. Ignore the noise and stick to answering the questions. (I'll weed out the "noise")
3) If a question has been answered, do not answer the question again.

Posts by anyone that are outside the guidelines will be deleted.

Thanks AS12

Last edited by AllSports12; 12-04-18 at 07:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz