Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Basketball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #181  
Old 01-20-15, 11:18 AM
eagles73 eagles73 is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-10-14
Posts: 139
eagles73 is on a distinguished road
Has the illegal screen went the way of the Dodo Bird? If I knew how to pull parts of game film from Hudl I would, but unfortunately I am not that savvy. I know the rule states the screen must be within the framework of the body, meaning shoulder width. However, I have witnessed in every game, 11 so far screens being set with feet well outside the framework, and some with elbows flared out and then leaning into the screen and not called. I have asked repeatedly from officials before the game asking why this rule is not being enforced across the board. I have scouted teams and witnessed this, and watched scout film as well. Most refs give me the cookie cutter rule interpretation and then still dont call them.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 01-20-15, 11:33 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Without being there or seeing video there's no way to discuss this.

If you can come up with a way to post the video, we can discuss it as long as the topic focuses on the rule, not about the officials.
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 01-20-15, 01:29 PM
Wadz06 Wadz06 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-17-13
Posts: 1,848
Wadz06 is on a distinguished road
Ask the Ref?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thePITman View Post
You can just have a JV team made completely of Freshmen. Problem solved.

Not solved. Can an all Freshman Freshman team play sanctioned game against a JV (comprised of Fresh,soph, Jr) team? Does OHSAA sanction this? Same question could a freshman team play a varsity?
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 01-20-15, 01:55 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wadz06 View Post
Not solved. Can an all Freshman Freshman team play sanctioned game against a JV (comprised of Fresh,soph, Jr) team? Does OHSAA sanction this? Same question could a freshman team play a varsity?
Yes to both. Not sure why a varsity would agree to play a frosh team, but its legal and counts toward their allotment of games played (22) and individual quarters played (110)

Players in grades 7-8 are prohibited from practicing or playing against any player in grade 9 and above.....

Last edited by AllSports12; 01-20-15 at 02:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 01-22-15, 03:27 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 121
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road


This is example of a blatant taunt that unfortunately went unpunished.
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 01-22-15, 04:24 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebrastripes View Post


This is example of a blatant taunt that unfortunately went unpunished.
I have no problem with passing on a potential player control foul as the contact was minimal and not through the defender....

As far as the taunt, you do have to get this one..... He dunks over a player 4-5 inches smaller than he is then taunts him. (bent over at the waist over the top of the defender)
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 01-23-15, 01:35 PM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Travel after the catch in the post

I need help with power moves around the basket

#1 Post player catches the ball with two feet (Feet A and B) on the ground outside the block. (I am not sure which one is considered pivot). He then takes a long step with foot A, jumps off that foot and finishes the layup. Foot B never leaves original position until jump for shot and no dribble occured. This is no travel correct?

#2 Now same player, a little farther out but same scenario. He takes a long step with A foot , but then B comes off the ground and back down to gather himself for a two footed layup. No dribble. Travel correct?

Thank you, reading these are great!
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 01-23-15, 01:57 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 121
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakyak View Post
I need help with power moves around the basket

#1 Post player catches the ball with two feet (Feet A and B) on the ground outside the block. (I am not sure which one is considered pivot). He then takes a long step with foot A, jumps off that foot and finishes the layup. Foot B never leaves original position until jump for shot and no dribble occured. This is no travel correct?

#2 Now same player, a little farther out but same scenario. He takes a long step with A foot , but then B comes off the ground and back down to gather himself for a two footed layup. No dribble. Travel correct?

Thank you, reading these are great!
1) When a player catches the ball with both feet on the ground, the one that is first lifted is considered the non-pivot foot. So, in your case, since Foot A was lifted first, Foot B becomes the pivot foot. Since Foot B was not returned to the floor prior to the ball being released on a try for goal, you are correct in saying that there is no violation here.

2) Since Foot B, the pivot foot, was lifted, it may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released. This is a travel, yes.

A little tidbit for our viewers: traveling (NFHS/NCAA) has NOTHING to do with the number of steps taken. It's all about the pivot foot.
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 01-23-15, 02:11 PM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebrastripes View Post
1) When a player catches the ball with both feet on the ground, the one that is first lifted is considered the non-pivot foot. So, in your case, since Foot A was lifted first, Foot B becomes the pivot foot. Since Foot B was not returned to the floor prior to the ball being released on a try for goal, you are correct in saying that there is no violation here.

2) Since Foot B, the pivot foot, was lifted, it may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released. This is a travel, yes.

A little tidbit for our viewers: traveling (NFHS/NCAA) has NOTHING to do with the number of steps taken. It's all about the pivot foot.
Thank you! The last wrinkle, is there any scenario where a jump stop is legal in this scenario, or do you have to be moving with a dribble and then land on the two feet to get the jump stop?
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 01-23-15, 03:07 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 121
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakyak View Post
Thank you! The last wrinkle, is there any scenario where a jump stop is legal in this scenario, or do you have to be moving with a dribble and then land on the two feet to get the jump stop?
Since both feet are on the floor in this scenario, it would not be legal to jump off the pivot foot and come to a jump stop because that would result in returning the pivot foot to the floor before releasing the ball.

Here's a good look at the traveling rules in high school and some case plays...

http://phillyref.com/basketball/travelrules.html
http://phillyref.com/basketball/travelcases.html
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 01-24-15, 09:04 AM
SMARTY22 SMARTY22 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 04-23-09
Posts: 1,438
SMARTY22 is on a distinguished road
Does anybody know why GCL South Frosh&JV only use 2 Officials?? I sure hope it's not financial.

Last edited by AllSports12; 01-24-15 at 09:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 01-24-15, 09:30 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMARTY22 View Post
Does anybody know why GCL South Frosh&JV only use 2 Officials?? I sure hope it's not financial.
It is financial.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 01-24-15, 09:52 PM
SMARTY22 SMARTY22 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 04-23-09
Posts: 1,438
SMARTY22 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
It is financial.
Thanks, that is very sad imo!
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 01-25-15, 02:57 PM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMARTY22 View Post
Thanks, that is very sad imo!
I dont think its isolated to just your league, I know many leagues only have 3 at varsity.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 01-25-15, 03:12 PM
afwpatfire afwpatfire is online now
All World
 
Join Date: 11-11-09
Location: Stark County
Posts: 3,997
afwpatfire is on a distinguished road
All the games in NEO I have been to this year have 2 refs for JV and 3 for varsity.
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 01-25-15, 07:55 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 121
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by SMARTY22 View Post
Thanks, that is very sad imo!
It is sad because having a three-man crew instead of a two-man crew is extremely beneficial. We end up having to guess on a lot of calls/no-calls in two-man.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 01-25-15, 08:13 PM
thePITman thePITman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 11-06-06
Location: Wayne County, Ohio
Posts: 9,284
thePITman is on a distinguished road
Alright. So I've seen 12 games this weekend, and this call has been bugging me.

A defensive player is completely stationary trying to take a charge. The offensive player notices and tries to dribble or hop around the defender, clipping the defender's hip in the process. It has been called a "block" 100% of the time.

Does it need to be head-on contact for it to be a charge, regardless of how long and stationary the defender is? I understand in most cases this is called because the defender probably leaned or stuck out his hip. But it's been a "block" in every single instance the last few days.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 01-25-15, 09:34 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by thePITman View Post
Alright. So I've seen 12 games this weekend, and this call has been bugging me.

A defensive player is completely stationary trying to take a charge. The offensive player notices and tries to dribble or hop around the defender, clipping the defender's hip in the process. It has been called a "block" 100% of the time.

Does it need to be head-on contact for it to be a charge, regardless of how long and stationary the defender is? I understand in most cases this is called because the defender probably leaned or stuck out his hip. But it's been a "block" in every single instance the last few days.
The definition of charging is "illegal personal contact caused by pushing or moving into an opponent’s torso".....

However, there are other provisions in the definition to consider. The first one is exactly the play you describe......

"A player who is moving with the ball is required to stop or change direction
to avoid contact if a defensive player has obtained a legal guarding position
in his/her path."


In short, you have a stationary defender who has established legal guarding position, therefore, the moving player with the ball is responsible for avoiding contact.

Now, that being said, there is no way to tell why all the calls were blocks without seeing video. However, if they all occurred as you describe, the offensive players should have been charged with a player control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 02-01-15, 11:47 AM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
Without being there or seeing video there's no way to discuss this.

If you can come up with a way to post the video, we can discuss it as long as the topic focuses on the rule, not about the officials.
On screens. Is a very large base and elbows flared illegal
if the screender does not move and has established position?
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 02-01-15, 12:10 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakyak View Post
On screens. Is a very large base and elbows flared illegal
if the screener does not move and has established position?
The screener must stay within their vertical plane and have a stance no wider than approximately shoulder width apart.

If contact is made with the stance you describe, the screen would be illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 02-02-15, 08:52 AM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
The screener must stay within their vertical plane and have a stance no wider than approximately shoulder width apart.

If contact is made with the stance you describe, the screen would be illegal.
Great info thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 02-02-15, 03:40 PM
ktg41 ktg41 is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 10-15-12
Posts: 6
ktg41 is on a distinguished road
I have a question. I've seen this play twice this year, once at a college game and once in a high school game.

On a breakaway layup the offensive player is fouled from behind by the defender who made no attempt to play the ball. In both cases it was called an intentional foul. The offensive player made the layup.

A) In the college game, the offensive player was awarded 2 foul shots and the ball out of bounds.

B) In the high school game, the offensive player was awarded 1 foul shot and the ball out of bounds.

Which is correct? Or are there two different interpretations since one was a college game and one was a high school game?
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 02-02-15, 03:43 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktg41 View Post
I have a question. I've seen this play twice this year, once at a college game and once in a high school game.

On a breakaway layup the offensive player is fouled from behind by the defender who made no attempt to play the ball. In both cases it was called an intentional foul. The offensive player made the layup.

A) In the college game, the offensive player was awarded 2 foul shots and the ball out of bounds.

B) In the high school game, the offensive player was awarded 1 foul shot and the ball out of bounds.

Which is correct? Or are there two different interpretations since one was a college game and one was a high school game?
If in the high school game the foul was reported as intentional, two shots should have been awarded as well as the ball awarded out of bounds to the shooting team regardless the outcome of the shot......
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 02-02-15, 03:58 PM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
If in the high school game the foul was reported as intentional, two shots should have been awarded as well as the ball awarded out of bounds to the shooting team regardless the outcome of the shot......
Same scenario, then kids picks the ball up and punts it into the stands out of frustration. Simply two more free throws?
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 02-02-15, 05:31 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakyak View Post
Same scenario, then kids picks the ball up and punts it into the stands out of frustration. Simply two more free throws?
Correct.... as the penalty for the technical foul. (I hope)

Followed by the ball out of bounds at the division line. (high school rules)
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 02-04-15, 11:50 AM
ktg41 ktg41 is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 10-15-12
Posts: 6
ktg41 is on a distinguished road
Sorry, this begs another question.

In the high school game, it was obviously called an intentional foul (referee crossed his arms, cleared the free throw lane for the foul shot). After the free throw, the team was awarded the ball under their basket. Shouldn't they have gotten it at half-court.

Seems that the call was botched in a number of ways?
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 02-04-15, 01:54 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 121
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktg41 View Post
Sorry, this begs another question.

In the high school game, it was obviously called an intentional foul (referee crossed his arms, cleared the free throw lane for the foul shot). After the free throw, the team was awarded the ball under their basket. Shouldn't they have gotten it at half-court.

Seems that the call was botched in a number of ways?
They did not botch this part.

Following an intentional personal foul, the subsequent throw-in is at the spot nearest to where the foul occurred, not (necessarily) at the division line. Technical fouls always put the throw-in at the division line (in high school).
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 02-12-15, 01:54 PM
BF Pride BF Pride is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 08-11-09
Posts: 2,573
BF Pride is on a distinguished road
This may already be posted on here as I am not going to read 5 pages. But, why do they not call carrying the ball anymore? It is so blatant and ridiculous what these (mostly point) get away with.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 02-12-15, 04:07 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 2,970
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BF Pride View Post
This may already be posted on here as I am not going to read 5 pages. But, why do they not call carrying the ball anymore? It is so blatant and ridiculous what these (mostly point) get away with.
BF,

This thread is intended to ask, answer, and discuss serious questions about rules and mechanics, not complain about judgment calls. That being said, I've called four "carries" this week alone.

Last edited by AllSports12; 02-12-15 at 04:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 02-13-15, 08:31 AM
yakyak yakyak is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 06-11-14
Posts: 783
yakyak is on a distinguished road
Can we get a definition on illegal screen. Is it shoulder width apart and arms not outside the body?

To me the illegal screen is like holding in football. You could point out some violation every possession in the half court. It seems illegal screens on the pick and roll are much more common than screens during other offensive execution.

Some aspects I need clarity:

1) Physical position of the body
2) Space needed to provide the defense
3) any other detail
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz