Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Basketball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #511  
Old 05-22-18, 10:05 PM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,509
oxat622
Player with the ball in his hands has established his left foot as his pivot foot. If after he lifts it, he rests it on his right foot, so he's standing one foot on top of the other. He has not released the ball for a try for goal or pass. Traveling?
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 05-23-18, 06:06 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
Player with the ball in his hands has established his left foot as his pivot foot. If after he lifts it, he rests it on his right foot, so he's standing one foot on top of the other. He has not released the ball for a try for goal or pass. Traveling?
The violation occurs if he returns the pivot foot to the floor. The player did not do that here...

No violation
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 08-07-18, 10:51 PM
oxat622 oxat622 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 08-25-05
Location: Oakley
Posts: 1,509
oxat622
What is your threshold for technical fouls when a players is blowing off steam, but doesn't direct it towards officials or other players? Why do we automatically call technical fouls if someone slams the ball on the floor? Would you call a tech if a player kicks his chair on his way to the bench? Yells a four letter word? Punches the basket support? What's your rule of thumb?
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 08-08-18, 01:13 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
What is your threshold for technical fouls when a players is blowing off steam, but doesn't direct it towards officials or other players? Why do we automatically call technical fouls if someone slams the ball on the floor? Would you call a tech if a player kicks his chair on his way to the bench? Yells a four letter word? Punches the basket support? What's your rule of thumb?
It's all about context, except if the profanity is audible for others to hear. (Whack!)

If any of the above actions are in relation (immediate or delayed) to an official's judgment or ruling, those actions are unsporting in nature and are to be penalized with a Technical Foul. No if's ,and's, or but's.

If the actions are related to the player or a teammate making a mistake, a Technical Foul may or may not be warranted. Sometimes the act is met with a quiet word for the player, the captain, and/or coach. Sometimes it's met with a stern word for said player.

For example, when upset with himself/herself, the instance of slamming the ball to the floor warrants a Technical Foul he/she fails to catch the ball and it goes airborne after being slammed to the floor. The reason..... the fans may think the player is upset with a call, when in fact he's/she's upset with themselves. We can't allow any player to incite a crowd whether it be intentional or not. In the end, it's incumbent on the participants to keep their actions under control.

Knowing when to penalize and when to counsel is an acquired skill that generally comes with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 08-23-18, 07:56 AM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by oxat622 View Post
What is your threshold for technical fouls when a players is blowing off steam, but doesn't direct it towards officials or other players? Why do we automatically call technical fouls if someone slams the ball on the floor? Would you call a tech if a player kicks his chair on his way to the bench? Yells a four letter word? Punches the basket support? What's your rule of thumb?
What AllSports said.

Also, the rules don't require that poor behavior be directed at the officials for a technical foul to be issued. Profanity, for instance, is expressly prohibited and the rules don't say that it has to be directed at an official or opponent. Now, there is a common sense element as there is with most of the rules. If I'm the only one that can hear it, that's a situation where you can give a quiet scolding. But if a player curses loud enough to be heard in the stands, it has to be penalized even if he's blowing off steam.
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 11-17-18, 12:54 PM
coltfan76 coltfan76 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 07-10-08
Posts: 580
coltfan76 is on a distinguished road
Team A is shooting. In the rebounding action under the hoop, player A and player B end up shoving each other under the hoop. Referee steps between them as Player A is throwing a punch. Punch flies past referees head but doesn't make contact. Referee shoves player at least 4 times back toward his own bench. Player is ejected. Can referee be punished?
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 11-17-18, 12:59 PM
Philly_Cat Philly_Cat is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-11-13
Posts: 3,554
Philly_Cat is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by coltfan76 View Post
Team A is shooting. In the rebounding action under the hoop, player A and player B end up shoving each other under the hoop. Referee steps between them as Player A is throwing a punch. Punch flies past referees head but doesn't make contact. Referee shoves player at least 4 times back toward his own bench. Player is ejected. Can referee be punished?
Good lord! That post didn't end like I thought it would lol

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 11-17-18, 10:54 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
This has nothing to do with rules.....

It will be up to the league or state association to deal with the actions of the official.
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 11-21-18, 11:02 AM
coltfan76 coltfan76 is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 07-10-08
Posts: 580
coltfan76 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
This has nothing to do with rules.....

It will be up to the league or state association to deal with the actions of the official.
Thanks for taking the time to respond. I've just never seen anything like that in my 42 years of being around basketball and didn't know who to ask about it.
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 11-21-18, 06:38 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by coltfan76 View Post
Thanks for taking the time to respond. I've just never seen anything like that in my 42 years of being around basketball and didn't know who to ask about it.
There's no way I could speculate what would happen without seeing a video.

Generally, we are discouraged from touching players. However, I have bear hugged one in the past, preventing him from delivering a retaliatory blow against a player who had nothing to do with an incident......

In other words, maybe a shove (or 4) was inappropriate and maybe it was.
Reply With Quote
  #521  
Old 11-28-18, 08:54 PM
TriangleMan TriangleMan is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 11-23-15
Location: Stark County
Posts: 528
TriangleMan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
As officials, we use "A" and "B" to differentiate Offense and Defense and "K" and "R" to differentiate the Kicking and Receiving teams.
This was taken from the Football forum.

What is the nomenclature for offense/defense in Basketball? Any others in addition to offense/defense?
Reply With Quote
  #522  
Old 11-29-18, 12:26 PM
zebrastripes zebrastripes is offline
All District
 
Join Date: 12-26-14
Posts: 223
zebrastripes is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriangleMan View Post
This was taken from the Football forum.

What is the nomenclature for offense/defense in Basketball? Any others in addition to offense/defense?
Teams A and B are what the Case Book uses just like for football.
Reply With Quote
  #523  
Old 12-19-18, 12:30 AM
CedarBuck92 CedarBuck92 is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 03-01-18
Posts: 5
CedarBuck92 is on a distinguished road
How are officials asked to officiate blows to the head? Does intent make a difference?

Second questions: Is a punch an automatic ejection?
Reply With Quote
  #524  
Old 12-19-18, 01:23 AM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 54,323
Yappi will become famous soon enoughYappi will become famous soon enough
Saw this in a game recently and had never seen it before. Seemed kind of weird just because it was during live action.

Offensive player is passed the ball. He tries to gather it and ball falls to the floor and bounces back up to him. Unsure if this was considered a dribble or not, he asks the ref if he can dribble. The ref nods his head yes.

Was this within the rules? It wasn't a big deal and no one complained. It's just something I've never seen before and was curious if it was handled normally.
Reply With Quote
  #525  
Old 12-19-18, 07:50 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarBuck92 View Post
How are officials asked to officiate blows to the head? Does intent make a difference?
In 2012 the NFHS came out with a Point of Emphasis with regards to contact at or above the shoulders. It said...

Clarifications offered by the NFHS:

Contact above the shoulders with a moving elbow

With a continued emphasis on reducing concussions and decreasing excessive contact situations, the committee reiterated its prior position:

Rule 9, Section 13:
ART. 1 A player shall not excessively swing his/her arms(s) or elbow(s), even without contacting an opponent. (Violation)
ART. 2 A player may extend arm(s) or elbow(s) to hold the ball under the chin or against the body. (No violation)
ART. 3 Action of arm(s) and elbow(s) resulting from total body movements as in pivoting or movement of the ball incidental to feinting with it, releasing it, or moving it to prevent a held ball or loss of control shall not be considered excessive. (No violation)

Examples of illegal contact above the shoulders and associated penalties:

- Contact with a stationary elbow of an opponent may be incidental contact or a common foul.
- An elbow in movement but not excessive should be ruled an intentional foul if contact with an opponent occurs.
- A moving elbow that is excessive can be either an intentional foul or flagrant personal foul if contact with an opponent occurs.

While this leaves it to the official to judge the actions, the OHSAA Director of Basketball Officiating Development has stressed repeatedly (and for good reason)....

"A swinging elbow with contact in the head/neck area is ALWAYS an intentional foul, WITHOUT exception!!"

That swinging elbow if unintentional, is an Intentional Foul.
If that swinging elbow was judged to be intentional, then the act is flagrant is accompanied by an automatic disqualification of the offending player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CedarBuck92 View Post
Second questions: Is a punch an automatic ejection?
A punch meets the definition of fighting and always results in the disqualification of the offending party.
Reply With Quote
  #526  
Old 12-19-18, 07:59 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
Saw this in a game recently and had never seen it before. Seemed kind of weird just because it was during live action.

Offensive player is passed the ball. He tries to gather it and ball falls to the floor and bounces back up to him. Unsure if this was considered a dribble or not, he asks the ref if he can dribble. The ref nods his head yes.

Was this within the rules? It wasn't a big deal and no one complained. It's just something I've never seen before and was curious if it was handled normally.
Let's start with the definition of a dribble.....

"A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player's own backboard".


"The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted."


It sounds as if nothing you describe occurred here. Therefore, that ball hitting the hands of Player A is not a part of a dribble. After he gathers the ball he can pass, shoot, request a time out, or legally start a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #527  
Old 12-19-18, 08:07 AM
thavoice thavoice is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 07-17-07
Posts: 7,440
thavoice is on a distinguished road
What would you rule:

Start of OT the officials lined up the two for the tip facing the incorrect direction. Ball is tipped to team A who proceed to get an easy layup facing the correct direction that the tip was lined up at, but the incorrect way in terms of the rule that the OT direction continues from which way teams were going in the 4th qtr?
Reply With Quote
  #528  
Old 12-19-18, 08:19 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by thavoice View Post
What would you rule:

Start of OT the officials lined up the two for the tip facing the incorrect direction. Ball is tipped to team A who proceed to get an easy layup facing the correct direction that the tip was lined up at, but the incorrect way in terms of the rule that the OT direction continues from which way teams were going in the 4th qtr?

Score 2 for Team A and get ready for the barrage coming from the coach of Team B. (even though she/he missed the problem just as the officials and players did)


This situation is specifically addressed under Rule 4-5-4 ....

ART. 4

"If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction based on bench location."
Reply With Quote
  #529  
Old 12-19-18, 08:37 AM
thavoice thavoice is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 07-17-07
Posts: 7,440
thavoice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
Score 2 for Team A and get ready for the barrage coming from the coach of Team B. (even though she/he missed the problem just as the officials and players did)


This situation is specifically addressed under Rule 4-5-4 ....

ART. 4

"If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction based on bench location."
Fantastic.

Thanks.

This almost happened last week but the one official blew it dead before the player could make the layup so no points were scored. The basically did a do over with the full OT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz