Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Basketball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now

Old 04-15-18, 09:00 PM
All Region

crazyotto is on a distinguished road
Teacher vs outside hire as coach

Thoughts on this?

Recently, I had a discussion with a retired high school AD. He mentioned the teacher hire was the easier hire for him. He liked having a coach that walked the halls every day. He conceded that the teacher/administrator hire was not always the most qualified, but his feeling was that an "in house" person provided job stability. Basically, the trade off was stability over quality. A mediocre coach that will more than likely be around for a number of years outweighs a better coach with no ties to the school.
I have zero experience in his field. My outsider opinion is that as an AD I would choose the more qualified candidate simply based on coaching merit.
Sponsored Links
Old 04-15-18, 10:02 PM
All American

Raider6309 is on a distinguished road
I’d say a vast majority should be in house. But for the schools that offer 80k to 100k+ should be most qualified.
Old 04-15-18, 11:02 PM
All Yappi

Mr. Slippery is on a distinguished road
I don't think there's a "one size fits all" answer here. Different programs have different needs. Even the same program's needs can vary from one coaching search to the next.
Old 04-16-18, 04:39 AM
All Region

spirit454 is on a distinguished road
Can there really be a good reason to hire a lesser qualified person?
Old 04-16-18, 07:14 AM
Varsity

Philos_Finest is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirit454 View Post
Can there really be a good reason to hire a lesser qualified person?
Depends on your definition of “qualified”.
Old 04-16-18, 07:14 AM
Junior Varsity

baselinet2baseline is on a distinguished road