Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Baseball

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #631  
Old 06-16-18, 07:33 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,211
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
In Bugsy's scenario, the reason why R2 is awarded home is because the throw by F5 is the second play from the infield. The award is now based on the time of the throw rather than the time of pitch.

thavoice......

Bring a friend or two with you next year!
Reply With Quote
  #632  
Old 06-18-18, 12:37 PM
Peak Peak is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 07-21-17
Posts: 7
Peak is on a distinguished road
Here's a fun scenario for you...

Setting: 12U Tournament Game (semi-finals). Only one umpire - behind the plate. These teams played each other the day before and there were some heated exchanges. The umpire at that game (different umpire) did not eject anyone, but handed out warnings to all involved which carried over into their next set of tournament games on Saturday. Tensions between the teams were already high when they met each other on Sunday.

Situation: Score is 5-2 in 5th inning. Home Team is winning and they are at bat. 1 out, bases loaded, a full count on the batter. The batter hits a grounder to third who fields it cleanly and throws to first. While this was happening the plate umpire lost his balance and fell on his back (either stepping on the catcher or his own two feet, the cause is unknown). The umpire did not see the play at first, only the runner standing on first and the first baseman with the ball. All base-runners advanced one base.

The umpire, confused and probably still hurting from the fall backwards into the dirt and backstop, calls the runner safe. The visiting team's coaches lost their minds and started yelling/screaming at the umpire that it was a routine ground-out and the runner was out. Umpire said he obviously didn't see it as he fell over. The coaches are still yelling at him. The umpire points to the first base coach who doesn't say anything - he knows better. The visiting teams coaches and now parents are going ape- over the gesture saying the umpire is giving preferential treatment. The coaches and parents are using expletives and making sailors blush. The accuse the first base coach of telling them to "F" off. The umpire tells them to calm down, but they won't. The home team's HC now gets involved and tries to calm the situation. Nothing is working.

Solution: The umpire calls for a replay of the at-bat as he didn't see the outcome. The visting team coaches are still yelling and cussing. Eventually all parties agree to it. The umpire restarts the at-bat with a clean count. The visiting team now argues that the batter should have 2 strikes on him to start the at bat. The home team's coaches now go crazy over the notion. Eventually the umpire calls for a clean slate on the count and restarts the at bat. The batter hits a line drive to center for a single scoring 2 runs. Visiting team's coaches and parents are all visibly upset and going nuts over this outcome. The home team goes on to score 3 more runs that inning. The visitng team had one more at bat due to time limit and ended up losing the game 10-2 in 6 innings.

Was the umpire's decision to do a replay of the at bat the right call? What happens if the umpire is unable to make a call due to some circumstance (blocked sight, out of position, on his back)?

Sidenote: some of the parents, myself included, went looking for tournament officials to help de-escalate the situation. Even coaches from other teams watching the game tried to step in and help - nothing would calm down the visiting team coaches/parents.
Reply With Quote
  #633  
Old 06-18-18, 12:57 PM
winbypin winbypin is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 09-12-06
Posts: 8,665
winbypin is on a distinguished road
Not sure what was the right thing or wrong thing to do in this situation but it's 12U baseball folks. Come on. No need to act like clowns. I miss coaching the kids but not situations like this.

But I am interested in hearing what some our actual umpires on here say about the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #634  
Old 06-18-18, 01:36 PM
Peak Peak is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 07-21-17
Posts: 7
Peak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by winbypin View Post
Not sure what was the right thing or wrong thing to do in this situation but it's 12U baseball folks. Come on. No need to act like clowns. I miss coaching the kids but not situations like this.

But I am interested in hearing what some our actual umpires on here say about the situation.
My thoughts exactly. It was actually a little embarrassing watching this foolishness go down at the time. The Home HC asked his parents to calm down and stay quiet, whereas the Visiting HC almost encouraged the behavior by carrying on the way he did - he was oblivious to everyone around him.
Reply With Quote
  #635  
Old 06-18-18, 07:10 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,211
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
To answer the question, a "do-over" was not the route to take..... he didn't see the putout, so the play should have stood as originally called...

Last edited by AllSports12; 06-18-18 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #636  
Old 06-18-18, 09:58 PM
BobcatBomber BobcatBomber is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 12-21-05
Location: Dedicated to GB Reform
Posts: 14,723
BobcatBomber is an unknown quantity at this point
10u game. Pitcher is pitching with tempo. He’s ready to begin delivery once the umpire signals play is live. Umpire calls time, walks to the mound and tells pitcher he is not allowed to fast pitch.

Is this within umpire’s realm?
If pitcher is waiting for umpire’s signal, isn’t the onus on the batter to slow the pace?
I don’t recall hearing any complaints, so what would prompt the umpire to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #637  
Old 06-19-18, 07:01 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,211
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobcatBomber View Post
10u game. Pitcher is pitching with tempo. He’s ready to begin delivery once the umpire signals play is live. Umpire calls time, walks to the mound and tells pitcher he is not allowed to fast pitch.

Is this within umpire’s realm?
If pitcher is waiting for umpire’s signal, isn’t the onus on the batter to slow the pace?
I don’t recall hearing any complaints, so what would prompt the umpire to do this?
An umpire can control the pace of play in order to ensure that the batter has adequate time to be ready to receive the pitch. One of the tools that is available to us (and recommended for use) is a simple "stop sign" (holding up the right hand until the batter is ready.

Now remember, this is 10u. It's summer ball. There are more games than umpires available. The kids are learning and may times the umpires are learning. The ability levels of the players and the umpires are at times closely matched... (not a slam at either, it's just reality)

This is where a coach can step in and politely ask the umpire to ask him for assistance in slowing his pitcher down. That can go a long way here.....
Reply With Quote
  #638  
Old 06-19-18, 02:19 PM
multisportdad multisportdad is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 05-21-07
Posts: 842
multisportdad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
To answer the question, a "do-over" was not the route to take..... he didn't see the putout, so the play should have stood as originally called...
At 12U, and umpiring solo, would it be acceptable to conference with both head coaches, ask them what they saw, and if they agree make that call? Otherwise, make the safe call?

Obviously, this is an extraordinary situation, and not something you would employ on a regular basis.
Reply With Quote
  #639  
Old 06-19-18, 02:38 PM
Bugsy8875 Bugsy8875 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 08-16-14
Location: Lorain County
Posts: 482
Bugsy8875 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by multisportdad View Post
At 12U, and umpiring solo, would it be acceptable to conference with both head coaches, ask them what they saw, and if they agree make that call? Otherwise, make the safe call?

Obviously, this is an extraordinary situation, and not something you would employ on a regular basis.
Not a bad suggestion. Call both managers to the plate, explain the situation that the call will stick as it was called because you fell (and only one umpire), but in the spirit of good sportsmanship, if the managers actually saw something totally different that could change the call and they agree, let's do it.

I think this can only work in the special situation described with the umpire falling and actually not seeing it. Don't want to open up a can of worms though...

One of the last things I like to say at my plate meetings is, "Let's all be leaders of great sportsmanship and enjoy the great game of baseball. Good luck" and shake hands.
Reply With Quote
  #640  
Old 06-19-18, 02:53 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,211
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by multisportdad View Post
At 12U, and umpiring solo, would it be acceptable to conference with both head coaches, ask them what they saw, and if they agree make that call? Otherwise, make the safe call?

Obviously, this is an extraordinary situation, and not something you would employ on a regular basis.
No, that would only open a door that doesn't need opening. It creates the possibility of an argument between the coaches if the one that benefited from the call refuses. that's a door that just doesn't need to be opened.

The only way I'd consider a change in this call to be appropriate is if the offensive team's head coach approached the umpire and offered that 1) the call was incorrect and 2) he would gladly accept the umpire's decision to change said call.

Sadly..... we'll all grow very old before that type of sportsmanship is exhibited.
Reply With Quote
  #641  
Old 06-20-18, 06:38 AM
Peak Peak is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 07-21-17
Posts: 7
Peak is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
No, that would only open a door that doesn't need opening. It creates the possibility of an argument between the coaches if the one that benefited from the call refuses. that's a door that just doesn't need to be opened.

The only way I'd consider a change in this call to be appropriate is if the offensive team's head coach approached the umpire and offered that 1) the call was incorrect and 2) he would gladly accept the umpire's decision to change said call.

Sadly..... we'll all grow very old before that type of sportsmanship is exhibited.
Very good point. The ump did bring the HCs together, but that was after he couldn't get one coach to settle down. The "do over" was about the only mutually accepted decision between the two HCs, but still not a good road to go down. What suprised me was that it was obvious the Ump fell over, yet I didn't hear either coach ask if he was okay. Tight backstop, so who knows how he fell or if he hit his head on the way down. His back was completely covered in dirt, so you know he fell without being able to prep himself or soften the blow.
Reply With Quote
  #642  
Old 06-20-18, 10:56 PM
thavoice thavoice is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 07-17-07
Posts: 6,255
thavoice is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
No, that would only open a door that doesn't need opening. It creates the possibility of an argument between the coaches if the one that benefited from the call refuses. that's a door that just doesn't need to be opened.

The only way I'd consider a change in this call to be appropriate is if the offensive team's head coach approached the umpire and offered that 1) the call was incorrect and 2) he would gladly accept the umpire's decision to change said call.

Sadly..... we'll all grow very old before that type of sportsmanship is exhibited.
Saw that once a few years ago.
Team A hit a tying HR in the bottom of the last inning, but the hitter/runner was high fived/touched by a player on the way to the plate and the umpire called him out, no run, game over.

Team's coach who would have WON the game approached the umpire and stated that the call was wrong, that is not a rule, and the umpire changed the call to allow the run to score and tie the game.
Reply With Quote
  #643  
Old 07-16-18, 01:33 PM
LaneDixon LaneDixon is offline
Junior Varsity
 
Join Date: 08-18-17
Posts: 32
LaneDixon is on a distinguished road
Situation: Runners on 2nd and 3rd. Pitcher comes set from the stretch. Spins to first and realizes there is no runner on First base. Never throws the ball. Does this violate any rules?
Reply With Quote
  #644  
Old 07-16-18, 01:35 PM
bb9 bb9 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-04-05
Location: Cleveland Western Suburbs
Posts: 343
bb9
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaneDixon View Post
Situation: Runners on 2nd and 3rd. Pitcher comes set from the stretch. Spins to first and realizes there is no runner on First base. Never throws the ball. Does this violate any rules?
Yes, that is a balk
Reply With Quote
  #645  
Old 07-16-18, 01:37 PM
LaneDixon LaneDixon is offline
Junior Varsity
 
Join Date: 08-18-17
Posts: 32
LaneDixon is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb9 View Post
Yes, that is a balk
That is what we all thought. Is the reason, you cannot fake a throw to an unoccupied base?
Reply With Quote
  #646  
Old 07-16-18, 09:40 PM
BobcatBomber BobcatBomber is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 12-21-05
Location: Dedicated to GB Reform
Posts: 14,723
BobcatBomber is an unknown quantity at this point
First base is the only base you are required to throw to if you make a move on delivery. You have to step off the mound with your back foot if you aren’t going to make the throw.

Pretty sure that’s the reason.
Reply With Quote
  #647  
Old 07-16-18, 09:45 PM
BobcatBomber BobcatBomber is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 12-21-05
Location: Dedicated to GB Reform
Posts: 14,723
BobcatBomber is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by thavoice View Post
Saw that once a few years ago.
Team A hit a tying HR in the bottom of the last inning, but the hitter/runner was high fived/touched by a player on the way to the plate and the umpire called him out, no run, game over.

Team's coach who would have WON the game approached the umpire and stated that the call was wrong, that is not a rule, and the umpire changed the call to allow the run to score and tie the game.
This happened at a tournament this year for 10u kids. Home run disallowed because the team was excited and got to him before touching the plate. Pretty ridiculous rule, IMO. Especially at 10u level. Doesnít happen often and itís a pretty exciting thing. I realize ya gotta teach them right from the get go, but man, thatís a harsh penalty.

My son hit his first HR later that day and instead of everyone cheering for him, parents were yelling for the bench to stay away until he crossed the plate. You can hear it from the video another parent captured of the play.
Reply With Quote
  #648  
Old 07-18-18, 07:52 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,211
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobcatBomber View Post
This happened at a tournament this year for 10u kids. Home run disallowed because the team was excited and got to him before touching the plate. Pretty ridiculous rule, IMO. Especially at 10u level. Doesnít happen often and itís a pretty exciting thing. I realize ya gotta teach them right from the get go, but man, thatís a harsh penalty.

My son hit his first HR later that day and instead of everyone cheering for him, parents were yelling for the bench to stay away until he crossed the plate. You can hear it from the video another parent captured of the play.
Under The Official Baseball Rules, NCAA Rules, and NFHS Rules, this is not a violation of any rule.

Maybe a league rule or a rule set (Little League?)that prohibits this?
Reply With Quote
  #649  
Old 07-18-18, 08:07 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,211
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaneDixon View Post
That is what we all thought. Is the reason, you cannot fake a throw to an unoccupied base?
Without disengaging the pitcher's plate......

- It is illegal to feint a throw to first base whether or not it is occupied

- It is illegal to feint or throw to an unoccupied base unless it is an attempt to put out or drive back a runner.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz