Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority  

Go Back   Yappi Sports - THE Ohio Prep Sports Authority > Boys HS Sports > Boys Soccer

Hello Guest!
Take a minute to register, It's 100% FREE! What are you waiting for?
Register Now
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #151  
Old 05-24-18, 12:14 PM
Philos_Finest Philos_Finest is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 11-12-10
Posts: 82
Philos_Finest is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportsfanofyear View Post
I like the rule change of Home = Color, Away = White but I wish they would have announced it before new uniforms were ordered last year. Traditionally, on the Home uniform, the School Nickname (i.e. Crew) is emblazoned on the jersey and on the Away uniform, the School/City Name is on the jersey (i.e. Columbus).
Where does this “traditionally” occur? Genuinely curious.. I’ve never seen/heard of such a thing.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #152  
Old 09-18-18, 12:31 PM
WX Dude WX Dude is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 10-16-05
Location: Forest Park, OH
Posts: 800
WX Dude is on a distinguished road
I've never fully understood the "incidental contact" exception to hand ball in soccer. Every time I think I have it nailed down I see something like this:
https://tinyurl.com/yahdmztu
Is this a blown call or incidental contact? If it's incidental contact,Why?
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 09-18-18, 12:55 PM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Location: North Side
Posts: 9,950
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by WX Dude View Post
I've never fully understood the "incidental contact" exception to hand ball in soccer. Every time I think I have it nailed down I see something like this:
https://tinyurl.com/yahdmztu
Is this a blown call or incidental contact? If it's incidental contact,Why?
Do you see any intent at all?

Is the arm in an unnatural position?
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 09-18-18, 01:06 PM
WX Dude WX Dude is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 10-16-05
Location: Forest Park, OH
Posts: 800
WX Dude is on a distinguished road
Not sure if you looked at the video, but no, there was no intent. And yes the arm was in a natural position away from the body. But does that matter when the contact gives them the advantage?
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 09-18-18, 02:40 PM
belied dat belied dat is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 03-20-08
Location: not Ohio
Posts: 489
belied dat is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by WX Dude View Post
I've never fully understood the "incidental contact" exception to hand ball in soccer. Every time I think I have it nailed down I see something like this:
https://tinyurl.com/yahdmztu
Is this a blown call or incidental contact? If it's incidental contact,Why?
I would have whistled for handling. No doubt about it. Allowed attacker to gain control of the ball to her advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 09-18-18, 03:36 PM
EastYoungstown EastYoungstown is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 04-04-12
Location: North Side
Posts: 9,950
EastYoungstown will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by WX Dude View Post
Not sure if you looked at the video, but no, there was no intent. And yes the arm was in a natural position away from the body. But does that matter when the contact gives them the advantage?
I did watch it.

I was asking you.

I'm not sure her hitting the ball did anything except actually make the ball bounce away from her and make it harder for her to collect it and score. Otherwise it drops right at her feet.

No intent.

No advantage.

In the moment it's tough. I probably call that on first glance.

Looking at the replay though I think that's a goal and if that's what the ref gave then kudos to him/her.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 09-18-18, 09:23 PM
WX Dude WX Dude is offline
All Ohio
 
Join Date: 10-16-05
Location: Forest Park, OH
Posts: 800
WX Dude is on a distinguished road
So its as I thought... Total judgement call on incidental contact. The ref did allow the goal over strenuous objections from the coach. And in another discussion two former refs say its a handball because the arms were away from the body.
Ultimately it did not change the outcome if the game.
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 09-19-18, 02:47 PM
belied dat belied dat is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 03-20-08
Location: not Ohio
Posts: 489
belied dat is on a distinguished road
While the rules say "deliberate," I think we all can agree that judging "intent" isn't exactly what is done on handling calls.

Her hands/arms were "deliberately" in a non-soccer playing position, so there could be the reasoning behind whistling the handling.
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 11-13-18, 09:18 AM
MJ_SoccerRef MJ_SoccerRef is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 11-08-11
Posts: 399
MJ_SoccerRef is on a distinguished road
I took a look at the video.....and here's MY 'opinion'......

Whistle / Handling. No goal. The arm began in an elevated position, with the hand near shoulder level......IMHO, an unnecessary position position given the fact the player didn't jump THAT high off the ground. More importantly.....MOST importantly......the arm moved downward & caused the contact with the ball. "Intent" is derived from what we SEE happen.....a player's arms go where the mind tells them to; the arm doesn't act independently......thus the very act of 'handling' (a verb indicating action) at the least implies 'intent'. This is contrary to a ball striking the limb, that is both not moving AND in a more natural position, one where the player is not "making themselves' bigger' (the more recent wording from FIFA).

It should be noted that whether the ball/hand contact 'benefitted' the player has NEVER been a consideration for ruling said contact 'handling'. That's one of 'The Old Wive's Tales" of soccer.......right next to "I got the ball first!" & "The Throw-In has spin on it!".

Lastly......many, if not most, infraction calls are "In The Opinion Of The Referee", and frequently "Opinions Vary", among a number of other factors that affect how we evaluate what we see, IF we in fact SEE it.....
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 11-23-18, 10:11 PM
jperona jperona is offline
Freshman
 
Join Date: 11-09-18
Posts: 9
jperona is on a distinguished road
Interesting discussion on the natural hand position being a factor and not the advantage. Did anyone see the handball call in the girls D1 final? In the video stream you could barely tell the hand hit that ball and the hand was in a natural position. It resulted in a PK but didn’t change the outcome of the game. Just wanted to hear someone’s explanation on how that was egregious enough to qualify for a PK.
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 12-22-18, 10:09 AM
MJ_SoccerRef MJ_SoccerRef is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 11-08-11
Posts: 399
MJ_SoccerRef is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by jperona View Post
Interesting discussion on the natural hand position being a factor and not the advantage. Did anyone see the handball call in the girls D1 final? In the video stream you could barely tell the hand hit that ball and the hand was in a natural position. It resulted in a PK but didn’t change the outcome of the game. Just wanted to hear someone’s explanation on how that was egregious enough to qualify for a PK.
Without having seen the video.......in general, I think it's important when evaluating Calls & No Calls to attempt to visualize what the particular incident looked like from the angle & distance the Center Referee had at that point in time. We NEVER have the same angle as anyone recording a video.......and observing play from an elevated position makes the Field Of View 3 dimensional, vice the 2 dimensional view we have at field level, among the players. Just some factors.......
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 03-10-19, 08:52 PM
USA70PP USA70PP is online now
All American
 
Join Date: 07-26-16
Location: West of Marion, Ohio
Posts: 1,213
USA70PP is an unknown quantity at this point
I saw this in a match a day or so ago. Goalkeeper came out in front of the box to stop a ball. It bounces and strikes his hands. Is this a hand ball? Just how and where can a goalkeeper use his hands to field a ball?
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 03-10-19, 09:00 PM
bucksman bucksman is offline
All Yappi
 
Join Date: 10-10-01
Location: Having fun somewhere :-)
Posts: 31,350
bucksman will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by USA70PP View Post
I saw this in a match a day or so ago. Goalkeeper came out in front of the box to stop a ball. It bounces and strikes his hands. Is this a hand ball? Just how and where can a goalkeeper use his hands to field a ball?
If it is outside of the penalty area (in non-referee parlance, the "18-yard box"), the goalkeeper is like any other field player and is governed by the same rules as it relates to handling.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 03-11-19, 07:44 AM
HSfooty1977 HSfooty1977 is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 09-13-15
Posts: 51
HSfooty1977 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by WX Dude View Post
I've never fully understood the "incidental contact" exception to hand ball in soccer. Every time I think I have it nailed down I see something like this:
https://tinyurl.com/yahdmztu
Is this a blown call or incidental contact? If it's incidental contact,Why?
Intent does not matter, if it is an intentional hand ball, it should be a yellow card, red card if it prevents a goal.
IN regards to this video, the player arm is away from body and it is a poor touch that allows the ball to strike the hand and gain an advantage. Definitely a blown call!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Registration Booster - Powered By Dirt RIF CustUmz