Thread: Ask the Ref?
View Single Post
  #51  
Old 01-22-14, 07:37 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,452
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
The NCAA rule is quite the opposite of the NFHS Rule.

If a player causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder, basket interference has occurred.

Also different between the two are the goaltending rules. In the NCAA (and NBA) if the ball is contacted above the rim after it hits the backboard, it is a goaltending violation. Under NFHS rules, if the ball hits the backboard and is still on it's upward flight, it can be contacted without violation. (provided it is not within the imaginary basket cylinder)
Reply With Quote