Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #135  
Old 08-26-14, 09:51 PM
Grandesign Grandesign is offline
Varsity
 
Join Date: 05-26-12
Posts: 60
Grandesign is on a distinguished road
Balk Rule

Man on 1st.
Pitcher gets the ball back and heads toward the mound.
Without touching the pitcher's plate (rubber), but rather standing 2' to the side of the pitcher's plate toward 3rd base, the pitcher starts a windup motion in an attempt to deceive the runner on base to take a lead or steal. The pitcher does not deliver the ball to the catcher, but rather stops his motion and makes an attempt to run down the runner caught off base.
Is this a legal move?
Reply With Quote