Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #131  
Old 08-04-14, 12:39 PM
mje037 mje037 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 01-28-05
Location: North Canton
Posts: 1,088
mje037 is on a distinguished road
NEW QUESTION::


Bases loaded, no outs. Routine ground ball to short. Flips to second for an out. Runner coming into second interferes with second baseman knocking him down. Who is out? I would assume the runner and batter, so the run scores and the runner from second would get third. This rule below makes it seem like the runner going to second is out and the runner going HOME is out. Thereby leaving runners on first and third with two outs. Is that correct? I have never seen the runner going home called out when the interference is behind him and no play is being made to home.

And this is what rule 7:09 (f) says:


If, in the judgment of the umpire, a batter-runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball, with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead; the umpire shall call the batter-runner out for interference and shall also call out the runner who had advanced closest to the home plate regardless where the double play might have been possible. In no event shall bases be run because of such interference.
Reply With Quote