Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #123  
Old 05-18-14, 04:00 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,389
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yappi View Post
Both of these situations are unintentional throwing of the bat.

Situation:
Batter throws the bat after hitting the ball in the first inning. Batter is warned about throwing the bat. In the third inning, batter throws the bat again and it hits wildly but not near any defensive players...did not interfere with play.

Umpire calls batter out for throwing the bat. Umpire also allowed the runner to score from third.

Was the umpire right in calling him out for throwing the bat? Was he right for allowing the run to score.

Similar situation:
Batter hits a little dribbler in front of home plate and throws the bat which hits the catcher and prevents him from making the play. Would there be any differences between the first scenario and this scenario?

(I was always under the impression that an umpire can eject a kid for throwing a bat but could not call him out)
FED Rules...

First situation - When the first batter threw the bat, there should have been a team warning issued for violating Rule 3-3-1(c). Any other teammate violating from there on out is ejected. The result of the play stands. The batter is not called out for throwing the bat.

Second Situation - The ball is dead immediately when the thrown bat prevents the catcher from making a play. The batter is out for interference and all runners return to the base occupied at the time of the interference. The umpire could judge that the interference prevented additional outs and declare a runner(s) out as well.

There is no rule set that provides for the batter being declared out for simply throwing the bat. There are local rules that could supersede this for safety reasons. (usually youth leagues) What happens after the bat is thrown dictates what rule to apply.
Reply With Quote