Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #122  
Old 05-18-14, 02:49 PM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 49,038
Yappi will become famous soon enough
Both of these situations are unintentional throwing of the bat.

Situation:
Batter throws the bat after hitting the ball in the first inning. Batter is warned about throwing the bat. In the third inning, batter throws the bat again and it hits wildly but not near any defensive players...did not interfere with play.

Umpire calls batter out for throwing the bat. Umpire also allowed the runner to score from third.

Was the umpire right in calling him out for throwing the bat? Was he right for allowing the run to score.

Similar situation:
Batter hits a little dribbler in front of home plate and throws the bat which hits the catcher and prevents him from making the play. Would there be any differences between the first scenario and this scenario?

(I was always under the impression that an umpire can eject a kid for throwing a bat but could not call him out)
Reply With Quote