Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #54  
Old 03-28-14, 10:27 PM
Yappi Yappi is offline
Go Buckeyes
 
Join Date: 04-15-01
Location: Ohio
Posts: 53,204
Yappi will become famous soon enoughYappi will become famous soon enough
Here is a call that I've seen called twice and I believe the umpires were wrong both times and if they were right, the rule needs to change.

Dropped 3rd strike. Ball bounces 5 feet to the catcher's right. Right handed batter starts to run to first base. First baseman sets up on the foul side of the base to receive the throw. Runner is on the inside of the baseline (not in the running lane) in fair territory to avoid running into first baseman. Catcher makes a bad throw and hits the runner in the back. Umpire calls him out for not running in the running lane which interfered with the 1st baseman's opportunity to catch the ball.

There are several sites online that claim this should NOT be called interference (one example)
Reply With Quote