Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #49  
Old 02-28-14, 05:32 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,212
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sig4969 View Post
Bases are loaded, two outs , 1st baseman is playing deep ,not in the dirt at 1st base, pitcher is lefthanded, pitcher throws to 1st base but the 1st baseman does not moved, pitcher throws to where the 1st baseman is ?

is this a balk ?
If F3 (1st baseman) is judged to be in the proximity of the base, then the play is legal.

Based on your description of F3 playing deep (not in the dirt), no legitimate play can be made on the runner, therefore, a balk has been committed.
Reply With Quote