Thread: Ask The Ump?
View Single Post
  #36  
Old 02-23-14, 10:49 PM
SteelerNation SteelerNation is offline
Junior Varsity
 
Join Date: 07-15-09
Posts: 25
SteelerNation is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by sig4969 View Post
Just a question, have you every call a strike when a ball hits a batter ?

Next time you are watching a game
Look to see where the batter is in relations to plate
Next where is batter’s elbow in the strike zone or out of strike zone??

With more batters wearing pads on their elbow, I think this is one aspect umpires are missing
Before a pitch is threw ..
Yes, absolutely, I have called a strike when a pitch hits the batter in the strike zone. Coaches and batter aren't all that happy, but it is what it is: a dead-ball strike.
There are a number of factors to consider, not just elbow pads. Do you mean that the pitch hit the batter on the elbow pad, which was/wasn't in the strike zone?
Reply With Quote