Thread: Ask The Ref?
View Single Post
  #63  
Old 10-23-13, 08:20 AM
bb9 bb9 is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 10-04-05
Location: Cleveland Western Suburbs
Posts: 354
bb9
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllSports12 View Post
Not quite....

It is first touching when the kicking team touches the ball beyond the neutral zone before the receiving team touches the ball.

If the receiving team touches the ball, it is considered a muff and the ball is free to be recovered by either team.
Where this one gets crazy is that the receiving team always has the option of taking the ball at the spot of first touching by the kicking team.

Example:

A punt goes downfield and hits a player from the kicking team at the 10 yard line. The receiving team picks up the ball and starts running with it. He then fumbles the ball and the kicking team recovers the fumble.

The receiving team may elect to take the ball at the spot of first touching, in this case it is their ball at the 10 yard line.
Reply With Quote