Thread: Ask The Ref?
View Single Post
  #39  
Old 10-22-13, 12:14 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,497
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by tallmadge H2 dad View Post
Wait a minute. So if team A attempts a FG from the 35 yard line and misses it, but the ball crosses the goal line, Team B gets the ball at the 20 instead of the 35??? I have never heard of such a thing. In college and NFL, if a FG is missed, the other team gets the ball from the spot of the kick.
A field goal attempt is a scrimmage kick. (commonly referred to a a punt)

Under High School (Federation) rules, anytime a kick (scrimmage or free) crosses the plane of the goal line it is a touch back and by rule the ball is placed at the 20 yard-line.
Reply With Quote