Thread: Ask The Ref?
View Single Post
  #1109  
Old 08-30-17, 06:14 AM
chs1971 chs1971 is offline
All American
 
Join Date: 07-30-16
Posts: 1,319
chs1971 is on a distinguished road
A punt, or any kick, that breaks the plane of the goal line is a touchback, but once it is caught it is no longer a punt. So yeah, he can run it out.

But he wouldn't have to. In the play above, if the ball stays in the EZ and the play ends in the EZ, the momentum rule would bring the ball back out to where is was caught, the two yard line.
Reply With Quote