Thread: Ask the Ref?
View Single Post
  #384  
Old 02-14-17, 06:49 PM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,207
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by serpico View Post
Foul shot question...

First shot of one-and-bonus. While ball is still in shooter's hands, B1 on low block steps into the lane, and A1 (right next to her) does the same closely thereafter, with ball still in shooter's hands.

What is the correct call? Does it matter that B1 went first?
If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate, the second violation is ignored...... if both players guilty of violating were both occupying marked lane spaces....

I posted the rule below....


If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the
free thrower or a teammate:

a. If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is
ignored, as in penalty item (2).

b. If the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the
free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are
penalized, as in penalty item (3).

c. If a violation by the free thrower follows disconcertion by an opponent,
a substitute free throw shall be awarded.

d. If a fake by an opponent causes the free thrower or a teammate of the
free thrower to violate, only the fake is penalized
Reply With Quote