Thread: Ask the Ref?
View Single Post
  #370  
Old 02-08-17, 07:50 AM
AllSports12 AllSports12 is offline
All World
 
Join Date: 01-31-07
Posts: 3,405
AllSports12 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy27 View Post
Team A's player drives toward the basket and goes up and puts the ball up and it goes in. During this process he collides with two players on Team B.

Ref A calls a charge, Ref B calls a block. All three refs confer and the outcome is a jump ball, with no points awarded.

Is this the proper way of handling that? I would think if they really couldn't decide, call it an inadvertent whistle, award the two points, and play on.
Under NHFS rules you have the dreaded "Blarge" (combination Block/Charge). By rule (as PostorPick noted) this is a double foul and because of this, there are now three possible rulings to consider......... all based on when the contact occurred.........

If prior to the contact, the ball was released on a try and the try was successful, then the basket would be awarded to A, both players would be charged with a personal foul, and the ball would be put back into play at the point of interruption. B would be awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the end line.

If prior to the contact, the ball was released on a try and the try was unsuccessful, then both players would be charged with a personal foul and a designated spot throw-in would be awarded using the alternating possession arrow.

If the contact occurred prior to the ball being released, the ball is dead immediately, both players would be charged with a personal foul and A would put the ball back into play with a designated spot throw-in.

From what you posted about the play, the crew got it wrong.
Reply With Quote