Thread: Ask the Ref?
View Single Post
  #364  
Old 02-03-17, 10:19 AM
TriangleMan TriangleMan is offline
All Region
 
Join Date: 11-23-15
Location: Stark County
Posts: 383
TriangleMan is on a distinguished road
This comes from a 2013 post on http://ohsaabasketball.com/rules/traveling-violations/.

“On a drive to the basket, when a player ends his dribble and collects the ball, he is permitted 2 steps prior to releasing the ball on a shot or a pass. Count the steps: 1 ‐ 2 is legal; 1 ‐ 2 ‐ 3 is not. If you get to 3 and the offensive player is still holding the ball, call a traveling violation.”

Does this mean that any sequence of three steps is a violation? I can see where the feet touching the ground in the sequence R-L-R would be a travel, but is it also a travel when the right foot lands first, followed by the left and then the left is lifted and lands again (R-L-L)?
Reply With Quote