Reds Lose to Pirates Despite Throwing Combined No-Hitter Anchored by Hunter Greene (not technically a no-hitter)


Go Buckeyes
Interesting quirk in MLB rules. Because the Reds only pitched 8 innings, it is not technically a no-hitter.

I went to a game back in the early 90s where the Indians were in a similar situation. Indians won the game 2-1 due to walks and errors and the opposing pitcher was not credited with a no-hitter.


Well-known member
If you recall in 2020, the covid year with the 7 inning games, there was a no hitter, at least one. But because it was 7 innings, was not classified as a no-hitter. Has to be 9 innings.