New Wrestling Program

I just accepted my first teaching position at a small rural school. Graduating classes of about 30-40 students. They have never had wrestling before, but have asked me to try and start up a program. I am also a football coach, which helps, but any ideas, tips, tricks, etc. to starting a program? More specifically at a small school where getting athletes out will already be a struggle.

With only 30-40 in a grade level, go see the counselors and have them print you a list of the entire student body from 7-12. Start having a conversation with each kid. Should take a month or two until you can narrow down a potential roster.

Being a football coach will help as you will be able to get many of those kids as long as they aren't good basketball players.

Push it through football. Wrestle a JV schedule (until post season) so the kids aren't taking beatings all year...30 losses helps no one. start a youth club ASAP and build through that.

What school if you don't mind my asking?

Not to give away any of my future plans but...

Find a student (or more) who has and knows how to use a camera. Create a website to which these pictures can be uploaded and viewed. (If good enough, you could (eventually) sell them, but small steps first.) Then create a QR code for the website. Have those cameras at as many practices, scrimmages, and competitions as possible. Take photos. Upload them to the website. Post the QR code around the school.

Students in the school can use their phone to scan the QR code and view the photos.

The hope is to create a "buzz" about your programs and kids. Then, hopefully, use that momentum to attract other kids to the teams/sports.

That my plan.

Oh, and @rr23724 - don't go shooting down my idea, making fun of it with the staff, or ripping down my QR codes. I'm trying to get some momentum here. ;) ;) ;)