Program "recovering" post Covid

93 red ls

OK , so I wanted to get some insight/thoughts/ideas (please leave your stupid/unhelpful comments at the door)

I'm the HC at Aiken a small inner city High school in SW we are D2. When I took over 6 years ago I walked in with 1 kid in the wrestling program.
At the time I was coaching Football as well and was able to pull in a few kids here and there from there had a few middle school kids coming 2-3 days a week (that group is now seniors!)

Flash forward to the start of this season (Last year I graduated 6 seniors which was my largest class I have brought through the program and we filled 12+ weights the 2 seasons prior) I cert'd 12 kids and the first 2 duals of the season I filled 9 weights. We were planning on having a short "shut down" period at the holidays as its usually very tough for me to get a full practice room over the break anyway and with Coaches classic being canceled we weren't going to have any competitions anyway.
2 days prior to our holiday "shutdown" we received word we had a positive case and our team needed to quarantine. In my head I wasn't thinking this would have a negative impact on my numbers moving forward boy was I wrong. Once our quarantine period ended (kids NOT back in class in person) we had 4-5 guys that came back (all 3 of my MS guys continued to come) So in a little over 2 weeks I went from filling 9 weights and having 10+ HS kids in the room to 4-5 HS guys total. In years past I'm tracking kids down, calling parents, making trips to talk to parents basically "selling" wrestling to them. this year was just so different and I get the reasoning behind why some kids chose not to come back.