Covid and soccer

I enjoy wrestling

Does anyone know of players that have tested positive? Football had a few issues, but soccer might be different. More open space with soccer.

At least one girls team in central Ohio was quarantined during the season for a while. I know of a couple others who had quarantines over the summer.

I had heard of a few but nothing major.

Can someone explain to me the logic of letting kids play against each other but not letting them shake hands after the game? In any contact sport?

One girls team in the Dayton area was affected and cancelled their last 2 regular season games and their tournament game. I am a referee, and their match last week was the first one I have had cancelled all season for COVID. I am pleasantly surprised we have made it through a season with little disruption.

Can someone explain to me the logic of letting kids play against each other but not letting them shake hands after the game? In any contact sport?

The really funny one is wrestling. They are not allowed to shake hands before and the ref isn't allowed to hold up the winner's arm.

Our team had a couple players quarantined towards the end of the season, but due to contact tracing (a couple volleyball players tested positive and they were in classes with those girls). We managed to go all 16 games without any cancellations, amazingly. I have heard of a couple games cancelled for other teams during the season, but I think most of those were out of caution, again due to contact tracing, not positive tests.

I'll make this my last post. I'm very happy for the soccer players. I'm happy for all of the high school athletes. I think these stats are important for all high school sports.
CDC COVID-19 Survival Rates
  • Age 0-19 — 99.997%
  • Age 20-49 — 99.98%
  • Age 50-69 — 99.5%
  • Age 70+ — 94.6%