The Official 2020 Cincinnati Reds Thread

I'm not an expert on the QO by any means but have heard explained that the Reds would be given the opportunity to match any offer. If he still leaves the Reds would get a supplemental pick. That could be totally wrong
This is correct. If the reds match and he leaves, they will be compensated with a supplemental pick.

Would you expect this same lineup to underperform next year? I wouldn’t. That’s not to say they don’t have some issues to clean up.
No. They need to upgrade SS and Catcher. If you feel that Tyler Stephenson is the real deal and Jose Iglesias is as well then open the pocketbook and resign Bauer. Otherwise move on from Bauer and spend on SS and Catcher.

First Base is still an issue but Votto can be valuable deep in the lineup if SS and C perform.

I’ve read it in several articles. I’m sure you can google it, if interested.
Since you claimed I was wrong, I thought maybe you had some info to back it up. Apparently not.

No where in the CBA does it say that the original team has the right to match an offer and the player has to take it.
That's not how the QO works.

Since you claimed I was wrong, I thought maybe you had some info to back it up. Apparently not.

No where in the CBA does it say that the original team has the right to match an offer and the player has to take it.
That's not how the QO works.

I said Brian was correct based on what I’ve read. I didn’t mention you at all. And no one is claiming the player HAS to take a QO, just that the team making it gets a supplemental pick if the player rejects it. Which your link absolutely supports. ??‍♂️

Just reading back, the term Brian and I used “match” is incorrect. The Reds can make a QO and if Bauer rejects it and signs with another team, the Reds will be compensated with a pick. NO ONE said Bauer is obligated to take a QO or a subsequent equivalent offer from the Reds to what another team offers Bauer.