Two 10-0 Teams To Miss OHSAA HS Football Playoffs

Allow me to ask a question that I have been pondering for four decades.

What is so special about an undefeated season?

We usually get caught up in the "absoluteness" of the zero in the loss column... 3-0, 10-0, 15-0. But that number by itself, representing the void, is totally meaningless. It is not a measure of accomplishment when standing alone. A high school team playing 3rd graders will go successfully undefeated but accomplish nothing.

What we have currently in this state is a system that as closely as possible measures accomplishment rather than just mere success. And isn't that what we want? This wrangling over an undefeated team not making the playoffs is misplaced. If we are to make any changes, those changes should reflect accomplishment in meaningful competition and not just be a victory counter.

Yes, there will always be the chance that a team is victimized by its schedule and the failure of its opponents to garner enough wins to push them over the line into the playoffs. But no system is perfect and no system is totally just. We have to go with the best we can create that reflects those principles that we try to adhere to. That's what we have and that's why we should leave it alone.

Maybe we should stop keeping score as well?

A team can go undefeated playing a horrible schedule and go deep in the playoffs. Let's consider Athens in 2014.

Since 2008, possibly no team in Ohio has consistently played as bad a schedule as Athens. That was when they joined the Tri-Valley Ohio Division and began playing a bunch of schools who are much smaller than they are. This after over 40 years in the SEOAL--which was a much more appropriate conference for them. I don't know why the TVC even let them in.

Anyway, here is what they did in 2014. You can see how bad their schedule was. Eight schools are from a lower division. They got to the state finals anyway:

8/29 H Gallia Academy (4-6) [4:14] W 52-0