Interesting Coach Quote - Too Much Practice?

Mackinbiner

Here's an interesting quote from an Ohio varsity football coach concerning ten camp days being allowed -

"Honestly, across the board in all our sports, we practice too much with our kids, It's become more of a, to me at least, we're looking at them like they're college athletes or professional athletes because of the time that we're spending across the board in all sports. As a football coach, I would like just to have five camp days in the summer to do some things with the kids, then get into two-a-days and start practicing."

I wonder if this coach has taken any heat for these comments. Or, do others agree?

Football has been encroaching on baseball for years. In my opinion, it is the one sport that keeps grabbing more and more the participant's time. "Non-mandatory" off season weight training, seven on sevens, quarterback camps, etc. Even though college football coaches keep saying they want multi-sport athletes, it is getting harder and harder to do it.

Why is it for every other sport you can play games throughout the entire year?

Baseball is in the spring then there is summer league

Volleyball for the school then JO

Basketball for the school then summer league...

Why is football coaching monitored more than any other sport???

I don't think football coaching gets monitored more than any other sport. But, it is the one high school sport where almost 100% of college recruiting is done. So, there are those challenges. The other thing is that baseball and softball are played during the Ohio Springs. The seasons are short from the beginning and often truncated by the weather. Summer baseball does not even start until the beginning of June and finishes at the end of July. Our team has already had one weekend where some of our players missed for a quarterbacks camp